Make Beautiful Memories

The day may come they're all you've got

Random Thoughts

Bandwidth issues being what they are, we don't watch Netflix or Amazon or Hulu or other streaming services. We download music and video from iTunes, at anywhere from 10 kbps to 3 mbps. Once I get problems solved with the onboard stereo, we'll be able to play DVDs again, too. We don't have any, but they're easier to come by than online content. Fortunately, we started out with a pretty good iTunes library, and we add to it a bit at a time when we can.

I was thinking about entertainment, because it's a rainy day here in our lagoon, so we can't really do projects out in the open, such as my hatch lens replacement project or portlight replacement project, or Kirsten's varnishing project. A lot of the varnishing is done inside, but Kirsten takes cabinet doors and drawers outside. By the way, her varnishing work is truly excellent. This is my totally objective judgement, and not biased in any way by our relationship or influenced by her request that I mention in this blog how great her work is. I really mean it.

Anyway, rainy days are great days for reading and watching TV shows or movies. We are regular patrons of the Alele Library, but it is a pretty small library. We've probably read close to 20% of their entire catalog, and close to 100% of the titles we think we'd like to read. We're now down to, "well, maybe I could read this." But it's been a couple weeks since we've been to the library, and we've read everything on board. I've taken to ordering the occasional book online, reading it, and then donating it to the library. It's kinda fun to explore the shelves, and find a familiar title, one that I've donated. You never know where you'll find a book, because, even though the books are cataloged in the familiar Dewey decimal system, the shelvers follow their own, apparently random, process. It took me quite a while to read Winston Churchill's four-volume history of the English-speaking people, not so much because of the books themselves, but because I'd find one in Biography, two in History (but not together), and one in Mysteries.

So, I re-visit books, movies and TV shows in my on-board library. They're pretty much my favorites, so it's good. I have always been inclined to watch end credits (or beginning credits on older movies), but haven't always had control of stopping, or backing them up, so that I can read all of them. A few I've seen recently caught my eye.

For example, there is a camera man listed on the San Francisco team that shot the Altamont footage of the Rolling Stones in the movie "Gimme Shelter". His name is George Lucas.

The movie "The Big Blue" is about free-diving rivals Jacques Mayol and Enzo Molinari. Jean-Marc Barr plays Mayol. Also, one of the bit actors in the movie is Jacques Mayol.

"Man On the Moon", about whacko "I'm not a comedian" Andy Kaufman, stars Danny DeVito as Kaufman's agent George Shapiro. But George Shapiro also plays a bit part.

"Haumana" is about a hula halau that struggles with a new kumu hula who has somewhat forsaken his heritage to be a Hawaiian lounge lizard "tiny bubbles" kind of guy. I especially am interested in the credits and acknowledgements for local da kine stuff, because you never know whose name you might recognize. In this movie, the name that got my attention is David Jung.

I was thinking of DJ just yesterday. I often do, in a random but contextually rational kind of way. I often hear his voice. Sometimes it is along the lines of "If anyone is willing, or able, ...." Yesterday it was this whole image of Dave holding the roll of masking tape and demonstrating how to lay the tape for masking the waterline. "Okay, now just put your finger on it. Move down a little bit. Up. Up. Down! A little more! That's it. Put your finger on it. JUST PUT YOUR FINGER ON IT!"

The context that prompted this was me holding a roll of masking tape, laying the mask for sealing the hatch lens on the deck hatch over the vee berth. As it turns out, in today's rain, I discovered a leak. So I'll have to remove the sealant, remove the lens, re-mask, re-seal, and see what happens the next time. So far, I haven't heard any snarky jibes from Dave on my workmanship.

Such are a few of my random thoughts on this rainy day in Majuro lagoon.

Comments