The Voyages of s/v Lucky Bird

21 August 2019 | Straits Marina, Mackinaw City
06 August 2019 | Village of Brockport
30 July 2019
27 July 2019
21 June 2019 | Wickford Cove Marina
20 May 2019 | Antlantic Yacht Basin
13 May 2019 | Homer Smith Marina, final Salty Dawg Destination
21 April 2019 | Frenchtown, St. Thomas V.I. Easter Celebration
20 April 2019 | Brewers Bay, St. Thomas VI
11 April 2019 | Nanny Cay Marine, Tortola, BVI
28 March 2019 | Green Cay Marina, St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
25 March 2019
24 February 2019 | Jolly Harbor Marina, Antigua

Bahia de la Ascencion to Bahia de Espirito Santos

22 January 2018 | Bahia de Espirito Santos
Just 30 miles south from Bahia de la Ascencion is another large bay. Along the way I decided to try my luck at fishing. I'd bought a couple of feather type lures from local fishermen in Adventuras. Hooked one up, tossed it behind LB now sailing at 6 -7 knots. I watched the lure skipping through the waves and then it disappeared. OMG, gosh, did I get a fish? Hauling hand over hand I watch the line zig - zag back and forth in our wake. Yup a fish. As it neared the boat I could see it was a small tuna, I landed it just when LB was it by a substantial gust and sitting on the back deck with fish in hand I almost lost it and me!.. "Alice hurry, get the bucket". Fighting to hold the fish and stay on the boat I hollered, "ALICE GET THE BUCKET!". "I'm trying", from Alice. Now LB's auto-pilot was struggling against the wind and we were rounding up, argg! The bucket, at last, now "Alice get some rum in a small cup and please hurry". Sails flapping, spray, a fish flopping in the bucket trying its darnedest to escape and me wanting to help LB get back on course. She poured the rum onto the fishes gills and that stopped its action completely. Now for me and LB. After a few exciting moments all was well again and we were back sailing south. Another fish? Why not try. The first was a beauty, umm tuna steaks.

So out went the lure and I sat back to watch. I gave the bucket with fish to Alice who wrapped it in plastic and put in the fridge. I turned back and I couldn't see the lure, another fish?.... Nope the line was cut, the big one got my lure. I'll never know what it was but if you every see a fish swimming with a pink and white feather lure, let me know!

I prepared the steaks about 1 inch thick and we got 6. Plus I got new fresh bait for some bottom fishing. Again not to shabby for us senior citizens.

Alice prepared the fish superbly, she created a sauce working her magic and with some wine we sat down to a dinner provided by Mother Nature and Captain Bob.

Now, the winds were picking up steadily forecast to grow to 18-20 with gusts to 25 from the N NE. We were anchored in 8 - 10 feet of perfectly clear water behind the barrier reef but still with that much wind I figured the night time would be pretty rollie pollie. I let out more chain, more than necessary, probably about 175 to 200 feet, but hey, I wanted to sleep despite the wave and wind action. The forecast was spot on and I was up checking the wind instrument several times until morning. I checked the Grib files downloaded over the SSB and tuned in Chris Parker at 0830. A big pressure gradient was being generated by a huge low in South America and an equally large hi over North America. We were going to have 20 - 25 or so for the next several days with seas outside the reef over 10 feet. So, since we're on island time I suggested to my mate we stay put until Saturday and then do an overnight to Belize City where the is a very deep and safe ship channel to enter through the reef. So here is is Friday afternoon, winds have abated to 15 to 18 N NE and will continue dropping tonight and tomorrow and by Sunday we will most likely be under power for the last bit of the trip.
Comments
Vessel Name: Lucky Bird
Vessel Make/Model: 1990 Moody 425 cc
Hailing Port: Kenosha, WI
Crew: Robert & Alice Smith
About:
Alice and I have spent considerable time together on the water; cruising and racing on the waters of New England, the Caribbean and Lake Michigan.

Sailing is our passion and together we've been fortunate to experience the thrills, the camaraderie and the enjoyment boating provides. [...]

We seek the freedom, excitement and challenges of voyaging.

Lucky Bird's Photos - Main
This is our second journey south to the Caribbean. This time we've chosen to exit Lake Michigan and proceed south through the in-land waterway system to Mobile. We'll start around Labor Day and take our time exploring the history of middle America.
207 Photos
Created 28 July 2017
30 Photos
Created 12 July 2013
101 Photos
Created 17 July 2012
Bob and Alice return to Lucky Bird after spending the summer in Addison.
31 Photos
Created 4 December 2010
Heading into the Windward Islands and further south
108 Photos
Created 22 February 2010
121 Photos
Created 11 June 2009