S/V Mabel Rose

Join us for a trip from New York to Tasmania, and back, we hope. Departing Saturday.

Back to School

So we are definitely staying here in Bora Bora until at least September 30. If we had only known ahead of time. . . . We might have spent more time in the Tuamotus, or stopped at Moorea, Huahine, or Raieteia - all upwind destinations now!

But as long as I am stuck in paradise, I might as well make use of the time to learn a useful skill. So today I went to Kite Boarding school.

Lesson one: learning to control the kite. Damn that thing is powerful! Crashed it many times, but my instructor got it airborne for me again each time. Axel is a Frenchman who has spent enough time in the tropical sun to pass for Polynesian.

By the end of todays lesson, I was knee surfing downwind while flying figure eights with the kite. Tomorrow, I might get to stand on a board. Cool!

Comments