S/V Mabel Rose

Join us for a trip from New York to Tasmania, and back, we hope. Departing Saturday.

Tuna Hunt!

Not much to report because, basically, we are on vacation now.
Actually, I called our County Board of Elections to see if we could get our absentee ballots electronically, and when I explained we were on a sailboat in French Polynesia, the agent asked if we were on vacation. I was a little taken aback, because when you are spending two years sailing around the world in a boat it doesn't feel like a vacation -it's just what I am doing in life right now. So o told her I am retired.

But staying put for two weeks in Bora Bora feels like a vacation from sailing around the world. Anyway, I took my second kiteboarding lesson today. We went all the way out to the edge of the reef so I would have miles of room downwind before getting into trouble. It is HARD to stand up on a little board while trying to keep a huge powerful kite from crashing into the sea.
Out of about a dozen tries I managed to sort-of stand up four or five times before crashing headfirst into the sea. Tomorrow I will try again.

After kite school I met Robin and we biked to town to look for fresh tuna for dinner. In my mind, I was looking for the ice chests full of filets that mark the roadside tuna stands. So I rode right past several whole fish hanging by the road for sale. But Robin noticed them.
We ended up with a huge two pound filet of thon blanc for about $17.

JOIN US LIVE SATURDAY 9/24 AT NOON EDT FOR A LIVE CHAT WITH ANDY REVKIN ON HUS “SUSTAIN WHAT?” LIVECAST - FB LINK: https://www.facebook.com/events/622078056288779

Comments