04 August 2017
01 August 2017 | Tanners Pass
01 August 2017
31 July 2017
30 July 2017 | Indian Harbour
31 July 2016
04 June 2016
28 May 2016
23 May 2016
22 May 2016
18 May 2016 | Great Sale Cay
17 May 2016 | Foxtown
16 May 2016
13 May 2016 | Man O War Cay
10 May 2016

Notes from the Chief Officer

15 October 2015 | All over the place!
Crazy Redhead

As the Captain mentioned we’ve been encountering lots of very friendly spirited folks. In Annapolis we met a terrific couple who have been living aboard for five years and have truly made a science of it. They shared with me their 100 year old sourdough starter who goes by the name of “Bubba”! I’ve made a loaf with Bubba and another is setting up as I type. Delicious sourdough bread! We’ve met many kindred spirits- people who want to adventure and live fully. Time doesn’t permit for long “courting” periods, so I find we end up making close friendships fast. I am so grateful to be able to have this experience. It really has shown me how very good and helpful people are. I think maybe our willingness to help one another is what makes us human. Witnessing this helpfulness has given me tremendous hope in humankind. I failed to mention that in Chesapeake City our friends Brandy, Tom and girls drove down from NJ to welcome us. They brought wine and beer and treated us to a lovely meal at a local restaurant. Brandy was an instant kindred spirit- full of spirit, magic and peace. Tom and Gary talked hours on end about…I don’t know…engineering blah, blah, blah, machines, blah, blah, blah, gas, blah, blah yawn blah…(brother separated at birth).
Fast forward Virginia! The Persimmon trees are fruiting! And the smell is heavenly! The air is dry and warm here - there is a very peaceful feeling here. Bob( who we ran into on his beach) offered us to use his car any time. He genuinely offered his services if we needed anything. He was full of stories he shared with us. We listened entranced by his gentle southern drawl and kind demeanor.
Rewind - Mill Creek and SEA SNAKES!!!!! So talk of the Dismal Swamp has been swirling around our circles. The Dismal Swamp is 50nm from where we are currently. The Dismal Swamp has Alligators and SEA SNAKES!!! POISONOUS SEA SNAKES!!!HUNDREDS OF THEM - HUNDREDS!!!! As you all may know I have a very serious fear of all snakes - land and sea- shudder, shudder. While Gary took the boys Wake Boarding I thought I’d indulge in a late afternoon swimmy. I slipped into the water…lovely! As I swam I was calculating the distance from Mill Creek and the Dismal Swamp, my math is horrible so I estimated that the Dismal Swamp was near, very near. I calculated the strength and endurance of poisonous sea snakes. I pondered whether or not Sea Snakes liked to venture past the Dismal Swamp? I contemplated the distance the trees on the shore were from the water- they seemed to be hanging close to the water-very swamp like. I noticed no one else was swimming. I decided to turn back towards the boat. I practiced some freestyle sprinting. I got to the ladder and began to climb up when I felt something BRUSH AGAINST MY LEG!!!! AAAAAAAAAHHHH!!!!! I looked down and saw a white snake swirl up and around my legs!!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHH!!! I sprang out of the water tripped over the aft section of cabin and landed head first in the cockpit. It wasn’t a sea snake….it was the rope we have tied to the bottom of the ladder to haul it up. I’m not okay. We haven’t even hit the dismal swamp.
The boys are thriving! Every person they meet - all of the people who have engaged them in conversation. All that they have seen - witnessed in person. There is so much good learning. Their creativity has blossomed. Arleigh constructed a monument to symbolize peace for our Thanksgiving Center Piece. Sam has created tools and maps as part of a time travelling game he and Arleigh play. Arleigh has designed a new anchor the “Scallop” with full specs. Sam has created a cartoon “Tilley the Hang Gliding Cat”. They are enjoying the kids they meet, but also they enjoy the adults we befriend. Sam told me after leaving Annapolis that when he grows up he wants to be like Oz. The gentleman who so generously brought Gary and Sam to the grocery store to retrieve our bags left behind . The gentleman who kept watch over us during our stay in Annopolis.
Rewind! The World War II Memorial in Washington. Sam was taking his time taking photos of a series of bronze reliefs. I noticed there was an elderly man sitting and taking in the memorial. I approached him and introduced myself and Sam. His name was Charlie, he’s 98 and he was a WWII vet. He landed on the shores of Normandy- one of the few survivors. After the war he married a Coca Cabana Dancer. He also studied opera and sang on Broadway with the actor who played Scarecrow in the Wizard of Oz.
Life and living.
Comments
Vessel Name: Maewyn
Vessel Make/Model: Endeavour 42
Hailing Port: Prospect, NS, Canada
Crew: Gary, Heather, Arleigh and Sam
About: Gary, Heather, Arleigh and Sam dream of warmer waters. Currently living life aquatic in Prospect NS and have returned from our year on the boat. Will keep the blog going locally but hope to do another trip in the future.
Maewyn's Photos - Main
18 Photos
Created 17 May 2016
18 Photos
Created 29 March 2016
30 Photos
Created 29 March 2016
12 Islands in 14 Days!!! A whirl Wind trip.
85 Photos
Created 7 March 2016
49 Photos
Created 21 February 2016
25 Photos
Created 16 January 2016
11 Photos
Created 4 January 2016
6 Photos
Created 27 December 2015
30 Photos
Created 27 December 2015
40 Photos
Created 18 December 2015
15 Photos
Created 12 December 2015
44 Photos
Created 30 November 2015
14 Photos
Created 16 November 2015
33 Photos
Created 6 November 2015
95 Photos
Created 26 October 2015
15 Photos
Created 18 October 2015
14 Photos
Created 12 October 2015
2 Days of training into New York from the boat. Heather is slightly excited!
26 Photos
Created 22 September 2015
11 Photos
Created 19 September 2015
7 Photos
Created 29 June 2015