Malibu

24 August 2015
29 June 2015
12 June 2015
12 May 2015
20 December 2014
11 December 2014
29 October 2014
11 October 2014
08 October 2014
17 September 2014
02 September 2014
24 June 2014
13 June 2014
06 June 2014
06 June 2014
06 June 2014
28 May 2014
14 May 2014

Pirates

11 September 2013
Andrew
It's a strange experience sleeping on a sailing boat.
The rigging and ropes above affected by the wind, clank or bang. The water below is splishing and splashing against the hull, the volumes all amplified. Anchor chain or mooring ropes, when in a marina, often contrive to creak and squeak; all designed, I'm sure to keep the skipper alert!
Now Yvonne doesn't do interrupted sleep. I sleep light on the boat for these reasons and am usually alert to change. That said, I have over the passed months relaxed to an extent that I can't remember being disturbed at night at all!

When we anchor, I have to go ashore with Vaila last thing, and again first thing in the morning. We use the dinghy, so leave it secured overnight alongside, ready with the outboard motor.

So it was whilst Yvonne was back in Scotland, I was anchored in a lovely spot in Camarinas with four other yachts in close proximity, all was well.
At 4 am I got up out of a deep sleep convinced that there was a problem with the dinghy. I went on deck to a bright moonlight night to see....no dinghy! The bright yellow rope that had secured it was just hanging in the water. Confused I went below, got a searchlight and a heavy spanner(weapon) and went on deck again. I swept the light across the water without seeing any sign of movement. I put on the VHF and called the coastguard. Finisterre radio responded and I explained that my dinghy had just been stolen. They recorded the call but basically explained it was a police matter and I should report it in the morning. I stayed up and looked for any movement but saw nothing.
I still don't know what alerted me, but I must have heard something in my sleep. You are left to wonder what you would do, could do, if successful in confronting the thief(s)?


It only gets light about 8.30 am here, so when Vaila awoke I had to explain that since she was a useless guard-dog there was no dinghy and no morning walk!
Only option was to go into the marina and report the incident. We would just have to use marinas till the dinghy was replaced.
Bringing a 40ft boat into an unknown marina singlehanded is complicated at the best of times, but sods law the wind got up, gusting up to 20 knots just to make it interesting!
In the harbour I circled off the end of the pontoons hoping to attract someone to help catch my ropes. There were no easy options of pontoons to land upon. I became aware of a whistle and shout from the fishing harbour wall. Five fishermen were gesticulating and calling me over. As I approached they pointed to my dinghy propped against a wall!
I was completely dumbfounded, thoughts that the the rope must have worn through rambled through my mind as I figured how I was to get it back.
The fishermen where pointing to a space beside fishing boats at the end of the harbour wall, suggesting that I tie alongside it. On a falling tide, an uncertain depth and an onshore wind I was not convinced. Fortunately just then a lady emerged from a big Grand Banks motor cruiser perched on the end of a pontoon in the marina, so I asked to come alongside. She was joined by husband and son to take my lines - saved!
I then put on a comedy show as I tried to control a desperate Vaila ashore, pick up her poo, and chase her as she made for the shorefront restaurants. The fishermen all meantime chattering in quick fire Spanish trying to get me across to the dinghy, triumphant with their find.
The atmosphere changed when I asked; where was the engine? I then showed them the other end of the rope and they all, at least twice each, examined it and agreed it hadn't worn through but been cut! They had understandably assumed the dinghy had floated loose but were now embarrassed and apologetic that a crime had taken place. I thanked them and offered them some money for a drink for their help, but they were clearly very concerned about the theft and would not accept. When I enquired about how to report this to the Police they explained that in the small village there was no police station, the suggestion was to go to A Coruna!
At least I had the dinghy back complete with oars and again was able to anchor. So after a "proper coffee" on board the Danish motor boat, I went and re-anchored in the same place, advising the other yachts of the incident. Most of them also had left their dinghies with outboards in the water overnight, although most were locked onto the dinghy.
Everyone I have spoken to regarding the incident has been surprised, (the Spanish clearly embarrassed) as we have felt very safe and secure during our visit here. This is truly a different world to the Mediterranean Spain that most of us are more familiar with. It does however just take one individual! Lesson learned!
When I explained it all to Vaila she was convinced it was Pirates! I suppose they came by boat, to steal, armed with a knife, yeh that's sounds like pirates.

There followed a windy day and night, but we were securely anchored. The following day I progressed on down the coast and rounded Cape Finisterre; beautiful sunshine a flat sea and 15 knots of following wind making for a super sail to anchor at Muros. A short motor across the Ria de Muros then took us to a lovely Marina at Portosin the following day, ready to pick up the crew. No sign of a skull and crossbones on route!
Comments
Vessel Name: Malibu
Vessel Make/Model: Oyster 406
Hailing Port: Troon
Crew: Andrew and Yvonne
About: Andrew and Yvonne have upped sticks and left Scotland in their floating home heading South plan flexible!
Extra: The purpose of our blog is primarily to keep family and friends informed of our whereabouts and activities. You can see our last reported position on "Maps" plotted on google earth.

Who: Andrew and Yvonne
Port: Troon