MangoandMe

14 December 2012
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
04 June 2012
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
25 May 2012 | Riviera Beach, Florida
23 May 2012 | Riviera Marina, Riviera Beach FL
23 May 2012 | Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
19 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
18 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
17 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
16 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
15 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
14 May 2012 | En route to Florida
13 May 2012 | Destination:Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
12 May 2012 | Destination:Florida
11 May 2012 | On the way to the Caribbean

A MYSTERIOUS MIST

28 May 2010 | Between Galapagos and Marquesas
david
A MYSTERIOUS MIST

I made my way up the three step ladder and out of the berth to be greeted by a unique, but once again, lovely morning. Still sleepy from having dealt with low batteries a few hours before, I sat in my usual spot on the settee and gazed at the immense sea, framed by the galley door. And then, I saw something remarkable, something I had really never seen before. A mist very lightly wafted across that galley door frame. "How strange" I thought, "I have never seen that, a mist right out of the Scottish Highlands or the early morning mists of Vermont." And then another and then another ..each one disappearing into nothingness.

Accepting the extraordinary, I continued my early morning rounds, got up from my galley seat and exited into the cockpit. There, I was mortified at what I saw. Not thirty feet off my port side ..I had just missed hitting an immense rock. And, with the mind working in milliseconds I thought "But how is it possible, a rock 2000 miles from shore?" And I looked again .and

it moved ..it was a huge whale, just one foot under, its back breaking the surface of the water. And there were the mists .every five seconds each one receding further into the great distance behind
Comments
Vessel Name: Shearwater
Vessel Make/Model: CONSER 47 Racer/Cruiser Catamaran
Hailing Port: West Palm Beach Florida
Crew: MANGO AND ME
About:
Mango is a smart, funny, sensitive and totally unique wheaton/sheepdog. . He is my partner on this patently undoglike voyage but remains cheerful about the whole affair. [...]
Extra: Shearwater is a 47 foot, very sleek and light catamaran. She is part of a fleet of 11 that were built - its a sister ship of Shearwater that holds the unofficial speed record. 31 knots! Of the this fleet, only one has flipped...so we are on the side of good odds!

Who: MANGO AND ME
Port: West Palm Beach Florida