MangoandMe

14 December 2012
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
04 June 2012
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
25 May 2012 | Riviera Beach, Florida
23 May 2012 | Riviera Marina, Riviera Beach FL
23 May 2012 | Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
19 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
18 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
17 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
16 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
15 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
14 May 2012 | En route to Florida
13 May 2012 | Destination:Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
12 May 2012 | Destination:Florida
11 May 2012 | On the way to the Caribbean

'ONCE MORE AROUND!'

20 September 2010 | In the Coral Seas, heading to Australia
david
As I close in on Australia, as I look out on the endless horizon , almost dreading the sight of land, I harken back to these last months since heading out of Panama...I am aware that an era in one man's life is ending. I try to look forward, but its the opposite that beckons. When I gaze out off my stern, I find a certain peace, a comfort of sorts. And when look out off the bow, I do so with consternation.

As with anything in life that is treasured, adored, needed...one is distraught to let it go. Now, as the final moments wind down to that point of certainty when this boat, this sea and this man will no longer exist as one, I find myself groping to immortalize, to find a way to slow the process down, to touch it one final time. What haven't I done? What haven't I filmed? Have I gazed out on this never ending vastness enough? How should I caress its exquisite face, its infinite features, feel its wildness...just one last time?

And then I am reminded of that famous french sailor Bernard Moitessier, rounding the horn of South America. When he reached that point of turning north, leaving the southern oceans behind, finally to head for home...he balked...he radioed in:...'Once more around!'. And east he went into the Indian Ocean...again.

And as I look back off my stern at the receding waters of the great Pacific, I feel comfort in having still within my grasp that exquisite....

I now understand that French sailor.
Comments
Vessel Name: Shearwater
Vessel Make/Model: CONSER 47 Racer/Cruiser Catamaran
Hailing Port: West Palm Beach Florida
Crew: MANGO AND ME
About:
Mango is a smart, funny, sensitive and totally unique wheaton/sheepdog. . He is my partner on this patently undoglike voyage but remains cheerful about the whole affair. [...]
Extra: Shearwater is a 47 foot, very sleek and light catamaran. She is part of a fleet of 11 that were built - its a sister ship of Shearwater that holds the unofficial speed record. 31 knots! Of the this fleet, only one has flipped...so we are on the side of good odds!

Who: MANGO AND ME
Port: West Palm Beach Florida