MangoandMe

14 December 2012
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
04 June 2012
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
25 May 2012 | Riviera Beach, Florida
23 May 2012 | Riviera Marina, Riviera Beach FL
23 May 2012 | Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
19 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
18 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
17 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
16 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
15 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
14 May 2012 | En route to Florida
13 May 2012 | Destination:Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
12 May 2012 | Destination:Florida
11 May 2012 | On the way to the Caribbean

THE VOYAGE CONTINUES VS THE ROCKING CHAIR

13 June 2011 | Gold Coast, Australia
david

At last..... in the next few days, Shearwater and I will throw our lines off and head out into the Coral Sea then up the east coast of Australia over the top and into the Indian Ocean, with a destination of S Africa.

I cant say Im not daunted by it, for I am. I have spent long days trying to anticipate any possible problems after equally long days fixing the known problems or tending to weaknesses. We have come almost 10,000 miles and we now have almost 10,000 miles ahead of us to South Africa.

We have 100 gallons of diesel, food for many months in the case I make no stops before my first anticipated stop, that of Christmas Island in the Indian Ocean. We are as ready as can be and now we let fate decide a few steps

I want to share one parting thought. Am I fearful? Perhaps, but that which I fear the deepest would be: one day, as I sit, an old man in a rocking chair, and ask myself why I didnt carry on from Australia, my only and sad response would be "I blinked". And that I cant face.

Comments
Vessel Name: Shearwater
Vessel Make/Model: CONSER 47 Racer/Cruiser Catamaran
Hailing Port: West Palm Beach Florida
Crew: MANGO AND ME
About:
Mango is a smart, funny, sensitive and totally unique wheaton/sheepdog. . He is my partner on this patently undoglike voyage but remains cheerful about the whole affair. [...]
Extra: Shearwater is a 47 foot, very sleek and light catamaran. She is part of a fleet of 11 that were built - its a sister ship of Shearwater that holds the unofficial speed record. 31 knots! Of the this fleet, only one has flipped...so we are on the side of good odds!

Who: MANGO AND ME
Port: West Palm Beach Florida