MangoandMe

14 December 2012
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
04 June 2012
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
25 May 2012 | Riviera Beach, Florida
23 May 2012 | Riviera Marina, Riviera Beach FL
23 May 2012 | Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
19 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
18 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
17 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
16 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
15 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
14 May 2012 | En route to Florida
13 May 2012 | Destination:Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
12 May 2012 | Destination:Florida
11 May 2012 | On the way to the Caribbean

THE HARE AND THE TORTOISE(and the duck)

12 September 2011 | On the way to Mauritius
david
In a conversation on the SSB radio today I was asked why I was going so slowly...for a catamaran...'Why dont you go 10-15 knots, get 'there' earlier reduce your exposure to the elements by a few days?' Very good point. I could do that with little effort, throw in a bit of main sail, take out the reef in the head sail and I would be smartly moving along at almost double the speeds that I am now averaging. But,as in all life, nothing comes free. There is a price that I dont want to pay for the possible consequences.

This is a rough sea - I would increase the pressure on the rudders and the steering system (faster more pressure to turn)...I would put much more load on the autopilots...I would increase the pressures on the hulls as they hit some very big waves...I would double the pressure on the sails and mast and rigging. Any one of these elements fails, and it would leave me a sitting duck paddling lamely around the Indian Ocean.

So... in other seas I might take a very different approach but in this sea with its diabolical nature, I will try to be not hare nor duck... but stay beneath my shell and be the tortoise.
Comments
Vessel Name: Shearwater
Vessel Make/Model: CONSER 47 Racer/Cruiser Catamaran
Hailing Port: West Palm Beach Florida
Crew: MANGO AND ME
About:
Mango is a smart, funny, sensitive and totally unique wheaton/sheepdog. . He is my partner on this patently undoglike voyage but remains cheerful about the whole affair. [...]
Extra: Shearwater is a 47 foot, very sleek and light catamaran. She is part of a fleet of 11 that were built - its a sister ship of Shearwater that holds the unofficial speed record. 31 knots! Of the this fleet, only one has flipped...so we are on the side of good odds!

Who: MANGO AND ME
Port: West Palm Beach Florida