MangoandMe

14 December 2012
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
04 June 2012
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
25 May 2012 | Riviera Beach, Florida
23 May 2012 | Riviera Marina, Riviera Beach FL
23 May 2012 | Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
19 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
18 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
17 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
16 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
15 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
14 May 2012 | En route to Florida
13 May 2012 | Destination:Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
12 May 2012 | Destination:Florida
11 May 2012 | On the way to the Caribbean

LAZY AND LOVELY

17 February 2012 | In the South Atlantic
david
Today is the fifth day after rounding the Cape of Good Hope and bidding farewell to S Africa. In the time prior to departure, as I walked the docks of Simon's Town, that town at the end of Africa, I would hear words and phrases such as "baby slope" "dessert" and "lazy and lovely", all describing what lay ahead in the South Atlantic.

But, hesitant to believe my ears and displaying an understandable gun-shy demeanor, my mind's eye would relive the rather arduous voyage across the Indian Ocean, the oh so quixotic coast of South Africa and, of course...what about that windy assault camouflaged in benign forecasts as I entered the aptly named False Bay, a bay that for my intent and purposes didn't exist!

But, here I am in the South Atlantic ....and it's indeed lovely. A peaceful wind blows from the back. The boat gently rocks as long swells roll underneath hardly even disturbing the glasses set on the table. The endless blue of the ocean looks up at puffy islands of clouds and albatrosses swoop.

In fact, I'm reminded of something... of the early days of April in 2010, as I set out across the Pacific. I am transported back there today - the same idyllic meeting of wind and water. But I was different then. I was young, the voyage was young. I was impatient. I had just started. I was blissfully ignorant of what lay ahead. And after all, I had places to go and things to see. 'Couldn't we go a bit faster!' Now, as I close the circle, I amble along at 4 knots. We are old - but finally, I know how to savour the "lazy and lovely".
Comments
Vessel Name: Shearwater
Vessel Make/Model: CONSER 47 Racer/Cruiser Catamaran
Hailing Port: West Palm Beach Florida
Crew: MANGO AND ME
About:
Mango is a smart, funny, sensitive and totally unique wheaton/sheepdog. . He is my partner on this patently undoglike voyage but remains cheerful about the whole affair. [...]
Extra: Shearwater is a 47 foot, very sleek and light catamaran. She is part of a fleet of 11 that were built - its a sister ship of Shearwater that holds the unofficial speed record. 31 knots! Of the this fleet, only one has flipped...so we are on the side of good odds!

Who: MANGO AND ME
Port: West Palm Beach Florida