Marcita to the Morbihan

01 August 2016
01 August 2016
26 July 2016
26 July 2016
20 July 2016
17 July 2016
17 July 2016
17 July 2016
19 May 2013
19 May 2013
19 May 2013
19 May 2013
09 May 2013
08 May 2013
08 May 2013
08 May 2013
08 May 2013

A crew member writes

09 May 2013
By the time you read this, I know not what state of mind I shall find myself in or even if I shall still be alive. Certainly, the ugly thought to end it all entered my head on several occasions yesterday. I must be strong and remain sure that I will smell English soil again. The truth is that my companions aboard the sailing vessel Marcita are driving me to distraction. One of them, Brian, is boorish and a bully too. The other, Ian... well he is simply indescribable. His accent, spoken through a thick black beard I should add, is so thick with Scotland and so rough, as to be incomprehensible. He drinks like a farm labourer every night and insists vociferously that we must join him in this beastly pursuit. It is during the days, while shipbound, that my companions cause me the most disquiet withtheir rough banter and endless wittering on about this and that and anything. Their putrid jokes and infantile conversation make me yearn for civilised company. My torment, if I can withstand it so long, will end on Saturday when this horrid week is finally over. Today, the bearded one sleeps as I write this missive in secret. We are now anchored off a delightful little island called Isle aux Moines and I have no idea what today might bring. I will remain strong.
Comments
Vessel Name: Marcita
Vessel Make/Model: Buchanan 32 ft wooden-hull racer.
Hailing Port: Pin Mill
Crew: Brian Gascoigne and various Classic Sailing Club members
About: We're all members of the Classic Sailing Club, based in Pin Mill on the river Orwell, which is on the East Coast of England.

Sailing to Brittany

Who: Brian Gascoigne and various Classic Sailing Club members
Port: Pin Mill