S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen

Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

31 December 2010
28 December 2010
23 December 2010
21 December 2010
20 December 2010
16 December 2010
15 December 2010
14 December 2010
13 December 2010
10 December 2010
09 December 2010
07 December 2010
06 December 2010
03 December 2010
01 December 2010
24 November 2010
23 November 2010

Photos on Plane

02 April 2008
Today, rather than the fabulously composed, artsy shots I'd wow everyone with ;) I decided to grab my camera when Hal and I took our little fast boat out for an all out speed trial. I know, I know, what a nutty idea! I knew I had to have something simple to work with when riding along with a Speed Demon though so I quickly decided on the Rule of Thirds.



Illustrated here from my handy dandy little book.



This photo I feel illustrates that. The deck of the boat fills the lower right section, the horizon cuts the upper one third nicely with the sailboat sitting at the upper left intersection. I even like how the sun's reflection on the right side is somewhat balanced by the continuation of the water v-ing down on the left. Oddly enough, though it looks like I kicked it onto black & white for the shot, this is in color. I'm thinking that must have something to do with white-balance but I don't understand that yet...



Next I shot a mooring ball as it zoomed by, instead of classically filling the center of the frame with it, I placed it in the upper left and let the water surge through the rest of the frame.



At this point Hal was ready for that speed test and the camera was relegated to taking photos of the GPS.



Illustrated here.

Actually we got a little faster than 30.8mph but none of those shots came out. It couldn't have anything to do with the fact that I was clinging for dear life to the boat, could it? LOL!



Finally, a photo taken by Hal.
It was time for my fast boat driving lesson. What a hoot! I really enjoyed driving the boat much more than riding in it. When I'm the one that makes it tip up and then level off on plane it's really cool and not scary at all!

I even executed an about-face turn and didn't swamp the boat or throw Hal out into the water or any other disaster that was floating through my mind!

Oh. I did lose my visor once but managed to grab it at the last possible moment. My new lovely straw hat would never survive at speeds like this.
Comments
Vessel Make/Model: 35' Coronado
Hailing Port: Boca Chica
Crew: Capt. Hal, Jennifer, and our daughter Marianna, a great photographer!
Extra: Warmest Wishes!
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/marihalojen/

S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen

Who: Capt. Hal, Jennifer, and our daughter Marianna, a great photographer!
Port: Boca Chica
Faith Arithmetic Reading Writing Exercise Beauty