Aquavit: Pac Cup 2016

Vessel Name: Aquavit
Vessel Make/Model: Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 42iP
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Michael, Bill, Joe, Patrick and Karl
Extra: 8/3/16 - On a quest from Kaneohe, Hawaii back to San Francisco with new Crew: Michael, Bill, Joe, Patrick and Karl 7/11/16 - On a quest to Kaneohe, Oaho, Hawaii with Crew: Michael, Mike, Bill, Paulo, Magnus and George
19 August 2016
18 August 2016
15 August 2016
14 August 2016
13 August 2016
11 August 2016
11 August 2016
10 August 2016
08 August 2016
07 August 2016
06 August 2016
23 July 2016 | ~50nm west of Kaneohe
22 July 2016 | West of Hawaii (300mi North of Darby)
20 July 2016
18 July 2016
Recent Blog Posts
20 August 2016

Getting from there to here

As much as we would like to take all the credit for our long voyage across the Pacific, we have had a steady and reliable aid guiding us along. That aid is the multitude of instruments we have to tell us things like: where are we? Are we going in the right direction? How fast are we going? Is [...]

19 August 2016

Sea Creatures

For the most part, the life in the deep ocean is under the water and not seen, but there have been some remarkable sightings on this trip. Here's a taste of what we have encountered.

18 August 2016

SF approach, full moon and meteor

This is an interesting part of the return trip. We had the hard sailing north from Hawaii into the prevailing swell. We had the sinister high pressure that was following us everywhere we went in the middle of the trip. Now, finally we are on track towards SF. It's a good feeling to be making [...]

18 August 2016

Heavy Weather Sailing

It's almost a relief hitting the heavy weather portion of our trip. We were worrying about the gale for so long, and the large seas and high winds that it would bring where we were further south, that when it finally hits we know what to expect. As our last correspondence with the weather guys states: "There [...]

15 August 2016

Whales and Weather

Saw a pod of killer whales yesterday, passed all around us, and one followed us for a few minutes. This is their place and they are curious about us. I've seen lots of killer whales in the San Juans, but new and exciting to several others.

14 August 2016

Weather

Seems like we've been plagued by the adverse weather this trip. On the way to Hawaii we encountered large, confused, seas and then Hurricane Darby. The last leg of the trip to Kanehoe was rushing like madmen to avoid been trapped at sea for days while the storm system passed. (We arrived at 4pm. Boats [...]

The process

13 August 2016
Bill
We run a tight ship I'll have you know. We know who's assigned to what task and it gets done well and on time. We are also a compassionate bunch, so if there happens to be a conflict that prevents one of us from completing our task, someone is always there, ready to offer support, say to cover the helm, stay on shift a bit longer, heat some water for coffee, tea or hot chocolate, or fetch a piece of clothing and pass it up on deck. It's a pleasure to sail with these guy's and it's something I will remember and treasure after the trip.

So, how does this work? We each have 3 shifts on watch a day. The day shifts are single person shifts, the night shifts have 2 people up on deck. We rotate 1 person at a time, so the 3 night shifts each are 1 hour with one person and 2 hours with another. At night, the 3 not on deck sleep, or in the case of Joe, try to sleep. Your shift starts with the 20 Minute wake up call. "Patrick, Patrick", a gentle shake of Patrick's arm. "Patrick - 20 Minutes". Patrick gives his reluctant but clear thumbs up. He's awake and, like everyone (from what I can tell) he reliably shows up on deck, ready to go, 20 minutes later, on time.

Now, that 20 Minutes is a very special and personal time for everyone. In fact during that time you literally are the only one awake down below. So, I can't speak for everyone, or anyone other than myself, but here's my routine each time I get the 20 Minute wake-up. I'm certainly sound asleep. I'm really not ready to get up. It's 2 AM after all. I raise the eye 'black out' mask to my forehead and start going through in my mind what I have to do before I climb out on deck. I take off my eye mask and pull out my ear plugs. The ear plugs fit nicely in a fold in the eye mask, so I put them there and hopefully they stay. I grab my headlight that I (hopefully) have remembered to put out and placed within arms reach. I normally visit the toilette. I then go to my basket of personal items in the forward birth and stow my eye mask and ear plugs there. I return to the bunk where I was sleeping and fold up my sheet (Used only in hot climate when sleeping in minimal clothes. Not used in the cooler climate of the more northern Pacific when I sleep with long pants and long sleeved shirt). I fold the Blanket I've been using as a cover. I gather those things and my pillow under one arm and make my way back to the forward birth where all our bags, pillows, sleeping bags etc are kept. I stow them in the spots where I know I can find them for the next sleepy time. OK, now what? Clothes. It's been getting cool at night now, so I need an extra layer on both top and bottom. I dig through my bag. If lucky, I've anticipated this and put the things I need on the top layer of my bag. If not... I pull on some thermal pants, warm socks and a 'technical shirt' (I had never heard this term before Kaneohe Yacht Club), a synthetic, long sleave shirt. Now, it's off to the aft head and shower area where all our foul weather gear is hanging in the shower. I built the 'closet/clothes hanger' myself to hold our foul weather gear, and although cramped, has worked out very well. I remove my gear, usually all on 1 hangar, from the rack of gear. It weighs a ton! Not literally a ton, but a good 20 lbs. My hat is hooked on the hangar on top of everything. I remove it and usually just toss it on the floor. My PFD (life preserver) is next; on the floor. Then my jacket; on the floor. Finally, I reach my foulie bib (pants/overalls). I remove them, put the hangar back on the rack and, in reverse order, start putting the things laying on the floor on my body. The bib, the jacket, the PFD, the hat (with headlamp). The the feet. I've been just wearing by Top Siders, but recently have gone to my 'rain' boots. I find the ones that are mine (I've marked them with a sharpie) and slip them on. I'm ready to exit the head. If I remember, I grab my water bottle and fill it on my way up. By this time I've already started to work up a pretty good sweat. It's always warm down below and, recently, always cool up on deck. As I ascend the companionway, the cool breeze and sounds of the sea greet me as well as an exchange of good mornings. A welcome feeling! It's been a rough 20 minutes!
Comments
Gallery Error: Unknown Album [1:]:36589
Aquavit's Photos -

About & Links