20 May 2007
29 June 2006
26 June 2006
21 June 2006
20 June 2006
20 June 2006
20 June 2006
20 June 2006
20 June 2006
20 June 2006
20 June 2006
20 June 2006

Size of yacht?

11 October 2005
JeanneP
QUESTION:
I have been reading your website tonight and have enjoyed it thoroughly. I have not sailed before but have a life long dream to be able to go on extended sailing holidays. I have just started some research this week in preparation to be on the water within 18 months.

I am wondering about the size of the sv Watermelon? I plan to buy a sailing boat next year that is capable of sailing the east coast of Australia as the start of my new venture, I have been looking at something in the 18-22 foot range. I am curious to know what size would be expected to be able to sail competently in open water?


ANSWER:
Watermelon started out as a 38.5-foot Jeanneau Sun Fizz, and we added 3 feet to the stern, so she was just shy of 42 feet. We lived on her, and though there are many cruisers who have circumnavigated on a much smaller boat, we were comfortable with Watermelon.

I have always said that learning to sail on a small boat is so much better than starting out on a big boat. Systems are simpler and the relationship between sail trim and speed is much more readily apparent. I've seen some wonderful trailer sailers in Australia, in the 18, 20-foot range. Friends spent many years cruising around Sydney with their two kids on a small trailer sailer, taking their vacations on the water each year. When they retired they moved onto a 38-foot cruising yacht, and were two very accomplished sailors, I'm sure because of their experience on the smaller boat.

The size of the boat is not as important as the seaworthiness. There are some very fine boats in the mid-20-foot range.

I think that perhaps you ought to post a question on the Cruiser Log sailing forum (http://www.cruiserlog.com/forums/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=2) and ask what other people like in the size range you are considering. Aussie sailors will have a better idea of what is popular in Oz, and what they have tried.

I am glad you enjoy our website.

Fair winds,
Jeanne
Comments
Vessel Make/Model: Jeanneau Sun Fizz
Hailing Port: THE TROPICS
About: Jeanne and Peter Pockel - Cruising in the Tropics
Extra: We left Boston in 1986 to go cruising for a few years. Sixteen years later we are still "cruising for a few years".
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/melon/?xjMsgID=3624

YACHT WATERMELON

Port: THE TROPICS