On 'Mental Leave'

10 November 2014 | Jordanelle to Payson, Utah
10 November 2014 | Jordanelle Reservoir, Wasatch County, UT
10 November 2014 | Jordanelle Reservoir, Wasatch County, UT
10 November 2014 | Jordanelle State Park, Heber City, UT

The Purchase

10 November 2014 | Jordanelle State Park, Heber City, UT
October 2011
I had been a windsurfer in my single days. After that I had had a Hobie 16 that I thoroughly enjoyed. Unfortunately I sold it when I moved to California. Years later, back in Utah, I bought another Hobie 16, but the pontoons were soft and it took on water. I had been trolling the classified for sailboats and gone and looked at a couple that look promising based upon the price. The ones I had looked at were in scary shape. Then one day I saw one pop up that looked promising. I happened to be the first caller. The elderly gentleman selling it arranged a time I could come look at it. When we showed up to look at it it was in nice shape, in a slip ready to sail. The gentleman, Robert Jenkins, and his wife took us on a sail. This seemed like a boat that I could take my kids on safely with out worry it would take on water. We accepted his asking price, $5800 if I rember right. He had received other offers over the phone but since I had been the first caller he gave me first shot. Hooray for integrity! We closed the deal on our 1991 Catalina 25 WIng Keel Tall rig yacht with trailer the next day. We got to use his slip on Jordanelle for the rest of the season.
Comments
Vessel Name: Mental Leave
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina/C-25 TR WK
Hailing Port: Provo, Utah
Crew: Grant and Carolyn Webber and family
About: We are a large blended family.
Extra: We bought the boat to learn to sail so we can retire someday to blue-water sailing. And for a way to have meaningful family activities.