Meta Fog Reprise

Meta Fog Sails Again

Vessel Name: Meta Fog
Vessel Make/Model: Baba 30
Hailing Port: St Paul, MN
About: Just me and my family
14 July 2019 | Apostle Islands National Lakeshore
11 July 2019
22 June 2019 | Port superior marina, bayfield, wi
05 June 2019 | Port superior marina, bayfield, wi
22 March 2019 | Bayfield, Wisconsin and Minneapolis, MN
Recent Blog Posts
14 July 2019 | Apostle Islands National Lakeshore

First Trip in Meta Fog!

This weekend we took Meta Fog out of the marina for the first time. We had a great trip!

11 July 2019

Meta Fog is Re-Rigged!

This week we got the mast back on Meta Fog.

22 June 2019 | Port superior marina, bayfield, wi

Mast Work

I removed most of the mast hardware and am repainting the mast before rebedding the hardware with ECK!, a galvanic corrosion & electrolysis preventer.

05 June 2019 | Port superior marina, bayfield, wi

Meta Fog AFloat

For the first time in a few years, meta Fog is afloat.

22 March 2019 | Bayfield, Wisconsin and Minneapolis, MN

Meta Fog will Sail Again

Meta Fog has been resting in her cradle for a few years. But she's not decommissioned yet! My family and I are going to give this little cutter a new lease on life, and we hope to have her in the water before midsummer 2019!

Mast Work

22 June 2019 | Port superior marina, bayfield, wi
Daniel Farrell | Beautiful early summer day
I removed most of the mast hardware and am repainting the mast before rebedding the hardware with ECK!, a galvanic corrosion & electrolysis preventer.

First, I'm sanding down to clean, fresh aluminum. This has to be done directly before the first coat.

Then, I'm putting on a few interlux epoxy primer coats. Though these are typically used for under-the-water protection of fiberglass, it also works to protect aluminum below or above the surface.

Next, interlux primer, a few coats.

Finally, 3 or 4 coats of single part interlux poly. I probably should have used two part, but chose single part, primarily for ease of application.

I considered it, but the mast was just too darn big, and most of its paint in too good of condition, to repaint all of it. I only repainted under the hardware - most of it did need a paint job.

The boom was a different story. I was able to take it home to my garage where I had enough time to refinish the whole thing. Looking back however, I think this was a mistake. If I were to do this again, I would have only repainted the boom under the hardware. Oh well. The boom also got a few hundred dollars in new parts for reffing cams and gooseneck components that were badly worn or had welds that were starting to give. I removed the bird's nest ( real and figurative) and replaced outhaul and internally run reefing lines with Sta-Set and Sta-Set X respectively before rebedding all the hardware with ECK!.

Overall the paint is not as abrasion resistant as 2-part, but it's held up all right and it sure was easy to do. The hardest part is getting the first coat on quickly enough.
Comments

About & Links