Mexico Adventure

28 March 2011
18 March 2011
07 March 2011
16 February 2011 | Barra de Navidad to Caleta de Campos
13 February 2011 | Barra de Navidad
12 February 2011
01 February 2011
31 January 2011 | San Blas
30 January 2011 | Isla Isabela
27 January 2011
20 January 2011
19 January 2011 | La Paz
17 January 2011 | La Paz, Mexico
14 January 2011 | La Paz, Mexico

Not in the US...

17 January 2011 | La Paz, Mexico
Bob Lesnett/ Nice and Sunny
Wow!!! Culture shock... I am just leaving the marina in the rental car to head off to Cabo San Lucas to pick up the master Christopher and the cell phone rings. It is the Chris himself, telling me that all is well and his flight is going to be on time. Just then a policeman on a motorcycle going the opposite direction sees me on the phone... big trouble. He makes a quick u-turn and pulls me over... arghhhhhhh!!! Anyway, he pulls out his ticket book, walks up to the car and starts writing. I am playing dumb and trying to explain that I was using the speakerphone feature, which of course makes it hands free, even though I am holding the phone... no, he does not buy it either. Now the policeman explains that yes it is illegal to talk on the phone and drive in Mexico... imagine that... and that the ticket is 1200 pesos or $100 US. Now my Spanish gets worse than it has been, I get even dumber and ask, "how much is it if I pay it here" and of course he says $100. I get a very sad look and explain that it is too much and he says "how much do you want to pay" and at this point his English is getting better and my Spanish is getting worse. "I have fifty dollars" and he then shows me the ticket book which magically has no writing on it after all. The fifty is now tucked safely in the ticket book by me and all is well in the world again. Yes Toto, we are not in the U.S. anymore...
Before I got to the airport in Cabo, I took a long drive to Todos Santos, which has world famous surf... and as this is suppose to be a surfing trip, I had to go and see it. When I drove into the center of town I could have sworn that I was in Santa Fe, New Mexico. It is an immaculate town, an artist community with lots of art galleries, craft shops and restaurants. It made me instantly think of my sister who lives in Taos... Dana, I miss you so much and wish you were here to share this moment with me... Unfortunately, I was running out of time and after many dirt roads and amazing houses I found Cerritos surf beach and longed to be in the water. There was a small right point break with perfect waves and not too many people out, but I had a two hour drive to make in an hour and a half... A quick cerveza and guacamole and I was on my way.
I was late to the airport and Chris was there smiling... the adventure had begun.
Comments
Vessel Name: Rocinante
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau First 42
Hailing Port: Point Richmond, CA
Crew: Bob Lesnett, Chris Lesnett

Mexico Adventure

Who: Bob Lesnett, Chris Lesnett
Port: Point Richmond, CA