Midnight Breeze

The Adventure Continues: 1.5 Years and Counting;We're Almost There! Join Us for That Final Push.

About Us

Who: Dave and Mary
Port: Annapolis, MD
19 April 2012 | Pikeville, MD
21 January 2012 | Annapolis
03 November 2011 | Bay Bridge Marina
15 October 2011 | Pikesville, MD
23 September 2011 | Bay Bridge Marina
04 September 2011 | Bay Bridge Marina
27 August 2011 | Pikesville, MD
27 August 2011 | Stevensville, MD
25 August 2011 | Stevensville, MD
23 July 2011 | Solomons Island
16 July 2011 | Chesapeak Bay
16 July 2011 | St. Michaels
16 July 2011 | St. Michaels
15 July 2011 | St. Michaels
23 June 2011 | Miles River
11 June 2011 | Miles River
21 May 2011 | Annpolis
21 May 2011
28 February 2011 | Annapolis, MD

Conflicted!

14 November 2010
Dave/Sunny 38 degrees
Stardate 11142010.0719
This past Friday Mary and I committed to the purchase of our new Midnight Breeze, a 2011 43ft Beneteu. The old 361 was sold two weeks later. I really thought that it would take time for it to sell because of the economy. A couple of families went together and purchased the boat. All most like a time share. I hope they get along together. I thought long and hard on this purchase. I want to retire in three years. Will I still be able to make the payments? The answer to that question was yes! Then why do I still feel guilty about the purchase. I should be elated. Maybe because of the kids and grandchildren? Not only will I be leaving them to go off on my last adventure and miss them growing up, I'll also won't get to spoil them. Maybe I will have to rethink my last big adventure. There has to be a compromise somewhere. Is there enough time to cruise the Islands over our winter here in the north? Maybe I can do six and six and just take one year and sail to Aruba for hurricane season and then continue my BIG U through Venezuela, my old stomping grounds over to Columbia and back up the Gulf side of Central America, Mexico, Texas and back to Florida and then fall back to the 6 and 6 routine. Whatever I decide, I know one thing for sure, in some form I will be sailing south. I know I am still three years away from releasing the lines but as soon as I tell my kids what I am up to all hell is going to break loose. It's not that I have spoiled my kids, well maybe a little. My ex-wife and I have been involved with our kids from the day they were born. Is it wrong of me to think it's my turn now to do something I have always wanted to do? If it is not, then why do I feel so guilty? And to get right down to it, it's really not about my kids anymore but my grandkids. They keep me going day to day, just waiting for the next chance to see them. To watch them grow up from a distance, unlike that of my own two kids. Not getting involved but yet being involved. I have never had to worry about my present wife Mary; she's been a willing partner from day one. She is so looking towards this adventure that she wants to quit working and start preparing for the adventure now. She has no kids except for her godchildren. She has no family except me. She signed off on the new boat as soon as she went aboard the 43 at the Annapolis boat show. So I do have a willing partner. I am sure there a boaters out there that have been or are in the same situation that I am in right now. How did you handle it? How did you break the news to your children? I am not too worried about my son, he's still single and would jump at the chance to come down for a week and go sailing. It's my daughter I worry about. She has the two grandchildren. You see my daughter is a lot like her old man, she to works for the government, following in dad's footsteps. And I might say doing very well. She says she wants to beat my accomplishments and I have no doubt that she will! We talk a lot about everything and she is always asking my opinion about things. Both of my kids are very successful. And I am very proud of both, what father wouldn't be! But my daughter is very picky about us being around for special dates such as kid's shows, birthdays, and the like. I have been a very blunt person all of my life maybe I should just be done with it and tell them. Some of you out there will say I am woss and afraid of telling my kids, you might be right. Really, is there a proper way of breaking the news? All throughout my life, at least since I was 13 I made my own decisions in life. I had no parents looking over my shoulders guiding my every move helping with important life decisions. They did not get to see me go on my first date. They did not teach me how to drive and see me purchase my first car. Not that I regretted that but I swore back then I would always be around for my kids and I was. Maybe the saying "Just do it" is the best way and do it now so they have time for all this to sink in. I will, maybe tomorrow....
Comments
Vessel Name: Midnight Breeze
Vessel Make/Model: 2011 Beneteau 43
Hailing Port: Annapolis, MD
Crew: Dave and Mary
About: Dave is from the junk food capital of the world--Hanover, Pa. Mary is from Pikesville, Md. We plan to outfit Midnight Breeze over the next 1.5 years while cruising the Chesapeake Bay. We'll then cast off our lines and head south for the adventure we have always dreamed of.
Extra: Join us on our path to retirement. Help us along the way with your ideas and suggestions. And just maybe, somewhere in time we shall meet. To quote a nice phrase..."We are going cruising not to escape from life but to keep life from escaping us." (Betsy Holman)

About Us

Who: Dave and Mary
Port: Annapolis, MD