Midnight Breeze

The Adventure Continues: 1.5 Years and Counting;We're Almost There! Join Us for That Final Push.

About Us

Who: Dave and Mary
Port: Annapolis, MD
19 April 2012 | Pikeville, MD
21 January 2012 | Annapolis
03 November 2011 | Bay Bridge Marina
15 October 2011 | Pikesville, MD
23 September 2011 | Bay Bridge Marina
04 September 2011 | Bay Bridge Marina
27 August 2011 | Pikesville, MD
27 August 2011 | Stevensville, MD
25 August 2011 | Stevensville, MD
23 July 2011 | Solomons Island
16 July 2011 | Chesapeak Bay
16 July 2011 | St. Michaels
16 July 2011 | St. Michaels
15 July 2011 | St. Michaels
23 June 2011 | Miles River
11 June 2011 | Miles River
21 May 2011 | Annpolis
21 May 2011
28 February 2011 | Annapolis, MD

Staying Healthy

16 January 2011 | Annapolis, MD
Dave/Cold
Stardate: 01162011.0040
Well it's finally done. Final approval has been issued by the finance company and our closing is set for Tuesday January 18th. Nervous no, just glad to get it over with! It's a load off my back having this all put behind us. Now I can get to the business of learning the new systems and planning our summer vacations.
Mary and I were talking the other day about our health. She said she would like to get in shape and stay in shape and maybe for once keep the New Year resolution that she always makes and never follows through with. She said now it is more important than ever. I agree with her 100%. Two years ago I made a resolution to lose 50 pounds. And I did! The only problem, I put most of it back on over the past two years. Yes, I went from 246 ugly pounds down to a nice 196! And now I'm back up to 222. I went from a waist of 46 inches to a waist of 38! I am back up to a waist of 42 inches. So we have both decided to get healthy. My promise to myself and my family is to get down to under 200 once again by boating season. Mary has yet to discuss her goals. Now all I have to do is determine how I want to accomplish this goal. Last time, I worked out almost 5 days a week and followed a diet of eating small portions 5 times a day. Well I did succeed so why not stick with it! But this time around I want to develop a system that will work while living on a boat since in three years that is our goal. It's not so hard to pick up and go to the gym where all your needs are in one place while living on the hard. How can that be accomplished while living on the hook? I did some research on the problem and decided to try something new. I read an article that older people should not depend on cardio alone, like I did last time. The article went on to say that as people get older there muscle loss is more important to watch. Stronger muscles help protect bone structure. So, I am going to work on the muscle area, watch what I eat, and then do some walking for the cardio. The article said to try to walk at least three times a day for 20 minutes at a time. I'll have to play around with that one; I don't have the time to walk three times a day since I am not retired just yet. Here's my pitch to all of you that are already living the dream, what do you do? Do you have a set routine? How about eating and drinking habits while living on the boat. You don't see much in the books about how to stay healthy. So if you have any suggestions send them my way. I'll put them all together and post them in my blog for everyone to see. In the meantime I will also keep you posted on my goal to under 200 and how I am accomplishing that goal. Just a note, it's important that you talk to your doctor before taking on a routine like I am talking about. Get their blessing, who knows they may even have some ideas. Until next time! Stay healthy!
Dave
Comments
Vessel Name: Midnight Breeze
Vessel Make/Model: 2011 Beneteau 43
Hailing Port: Annapolis, MD
Crew: Dave and Mary
About: Dave is from the junk food capital of the world--Hanover, Pa. Mary is from Pikesville, Md. We plan to outfit Midnight Breeze over the next 1.5 years while cruising the Chesapeake Bay. We'll then cast off our lines and head south for the adventure we have always dreamed of.
Extra: Join us on our path to retirement. Help us along the way with your ideas and suggestions. And just maybe, somewhere in time we shall meet. To quote a nice phrase..."We are going cruising not to escape from life but to keep life from escaping us." (Betsy Holman)

About Us

Who: Dave and Mary
Port: Annapolis, MD