Mile High Dream

17 March 2022 | The Saintes in Guadeloupe
12 March 2021 | Sandy Island, Carriacou
11 February 2021 | The Pitons, St. Lucia
03 February 2021 | Rodney bay marina, St. Lucia
06 January 2021 | Rodney bay marina, St. Lucia
24 December 2020 | Bay Gardens Hotel, St. Lucia
06 June 2020 | San Juan, Puerto Rico
16 May 2020 | Rodney Bay, St. Lucia
16 May 2020 | Rodney Bay, St. Lucia
04 May 2020 | Rodney Bay Marina, St. Lucia
20 April 2020 | Rodney Bay, St. Lucia
01 April 2020 | Rodney Bay Marina, St. Lucia
30 March 2020 | Rodney Bay Marina, St. Lucia
22 March 2020 | Rodney Bay Marina, St. Lucia
10 February 2020 | Rodney Bay, St. Lucia
27 January 2020 | Tobago Cays, St. Vincent and the Grenadnes
18 December 2019 | prickly bay
09 December 2019 | Halifax bay
16 November 2019 | Prickley Bay, Grenada
20 April 2019 | Antigua

dock sitting

07 January 2016 | simpson Bay Marina, St. Marteen
rain, It is why I am inside writing a blog
I was sitting there eating my garden salad and the most amazing thing happened. mmmmm
The sign was right. It said “Alcohol, because no good stories ever started with a green salad.”

So I have opened a beer and the words are flowing much better even after the first sip.

The posting have been few and far between. I have been in St. Martin area since November 23 and at the dock in Simpson Bay Marina since December 18th. Spending time at the dock is part of a cruising life style but there are places to go and people to see and I am ready to see some different scenery. Unfortunately Mile High Dream has other thoughts.

I have been having poor luck with getting my anchor to hold, especially if I am trying to drop it and set it in high winds. I have drug anchor 4 times this year compared to once last year. For you landlubbers, it means the boat is not staying where I put it. You “set” the anchor, go ashore have one beer or maybe two and you dingy back out to the boat and it is not there anymore. Mile High Dream decided to go an an adventure all it’s own. I do find it a short way from where it was.
So I am a normal guy and I tell myself “I have not changed my anchor technique so it has got to be the anchor. It certainly can’t be me and how I anchor.”
So off I go to buy a new anchor which leads to getting some new rollers for the chain to roll out on. Finally I have a new anchor which I am sure will solve all of my problems. If I can ever get off the dock.

Then I get a new freezer which works fantastic at the dock but not so good out at anchor. Time to add more batteries so the power will last longer. Let’s check the engine to see how the alternator is charging. Guess what, it is not charging. Time to replace the alternator.

I am hoping to been done by Friday and leave Sat. Guess what, their will be no wind on Sat. Not even a puff. Sunday has got to be the day to at least get off the dock and try out the new anchor.

Time in St. Martin and Anguilla has been lot of fun. I have reconnected with sailing friends from last year and we have been checking out the bar and music scene, the beaches and now some hiking trails. It is wonderful not to be on a rigid schedule.

The picture is from Ft. Lewis Fort, completed in the early 1800’s that overlooks Marigot and Marigot bay. My boat buddies and I.

French. Did I mention the French wine is really inexpensive. It is much cheaper to drink that it is to get a garden salad. It makes the story telling so much more enjoyable too.
Comments
Vessel Name: Mile High Dream
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 400
Hailing Port: Dillon, CO
Crew: Greg Seebart
About: Greg has been sailing since he was 21. I grew up in North Dakota and started taking advantage of the constant winds. After selling my bicycle store in 2006 we got more serious about living our dream on a sailboat. Greg and his wife purchased Mile High Dream in 2013.
Extra:
Greg and Mary had owned Nada Mas, a 23' South Coast, on Lake Dillon in Colorado for 33 years. We chartered in the Caribbean and Calif. numerous times. We were excited to begin our dream. While waiting for a weather window in the Truks and Caicos, Mary died unexpectedly Jan. 6 2015 after a [...]
Social:
Mile High Dream's Photos - Main
7 Photos
Created 9 February 2019
12 Photos
Created 18 December 2018
Mile High Dream Being put in the water in Grenada
5 Photos
Created 27 November 2018
A break from sailing
11 Photos
Created 21 February 2017
Getting to the Bahamas
12 Photos
Created 7 March 2014