Mile High Dream

17 March 2022 | The Saintes in Guadeloupe
12 March 2021 | Sandy Island, Carriacou
11 February 2021 | The Pitons, St. Lucia
03 February 2021 | Rodney bay marina, St. Lucia
06 January 2021 | Rodney bay marina, St. Lucia
24 December 2020 | Bay Gardens Hotel, St. Lucia
06 June 2020 | San Juan, Puerto Rico
16 May 2020 | Rodney Bay, St. Lucia
16 May 2020 | Rodney Bay, St. Lucia
04 May 2020 | Rodney Bay Marina, St. Lucia
20 April 2020 | Rodney Bay, St. Lucia
01 April 2020 | Rodney Bay Marina, St. Lucia
30 March 2020 | Rodney Bay Marina, St. Lucia
22 March 2020 | Rodney Bay Marina, St. Lucia
10 February 2020 | Rodney Bay, St. Lucia
27 January 2020 | Tobago Cays, St. Vincent and the Grenadnes
18 December 2019 | prickly bay
09 December 2019 | Halifax bay
16 November 2019 | Prickley Bay, Grenada
20 April 2019 | Antigua

Final Blog

06 May 2016 | Spice Island Marina, Grenada
Mile High Dream is out of the water, perched high above the ground. I have to use an extension ladder to get up into the boat to do the final fix-its and cleaning. I come back to the boat on Monday for a final review and put some cushions down below. Climbing up the ladder, I look inside and say ”Holy Crap. What is going on.” Remember this is the PG version and I do not want to offend anyone.
Thru the night, flying ants have decide that this should be there new home. The surface is black with ants, some black and red one still have there wings, but the black ones have all shed theirs and they sit in piles all around the boat. I start to panic because today is a national holiday and all stores are suppose to be closed. I turn on the VHF radio and to my surprise someone is talking about the large grocery store that is going to be open today. They had closed the day before to let their workers celebrate labor day. Climbing down the boat I head to the bus stand and get a ride to the IGA. Yes they have ant and bug killer that is suppose to last for 4 weeks. My purchases made I head back to the boat and the killing fields.
What I had hoped would be three hours of work and the rest of the day to play ended up to 6 hours and no play time. The good part was I was getting together with fellow cruisers that evening for dinner. One couple I had sailed with last year had just arrived and I was so thankful for getting a chance to see them before I left.
I am now in Florida, purchased a car and will be taking my time driving back to Colorado.

Once upon a time there was this boy and girl that met and fell in love. They got married and happily shared their lives together. It was like a fairy tale dream that became a reality. One of their many dreams that they had was to buy a sailboat and then sail around the Caribbean while they lived on it. This idea started before they had even gotten married and finally became a reality. They sold their house on Monday, flew to Florida on Tuesday, bought a boat on Friday and moved aboard two weeks later. What a special thing to have a dream and then make it come true.
They were so happy together. Learning about the boat and it idiosyncrasies, fixing it up and finally setting off form the dock to start a new adventure. Everything seemed perfect until one day the dream ended unexpectedly. Some power greater than them decided that the girl had fulfilled her obligations on earth and was taken from it and the people who loved her.
When one dream ends another needs to come and take it’s place.
The dream has definitely changed and yes I am still living the dream but in a very different way.
I want to thank all of those people who helped me sail Mile High Dream this season. Without all of you, it would not have been possible. It has been a learning experience for me and probably for those who sailed with me too. I appreciate your help, understanding, and sharing of your knowledge and experience to make this work.
I now have the summer to think about how to make it more fun ( if that is even possible) and enjoyable.
Mile High Dream is taking a break for the summer and so will I.
See you in the fall.
Comments
Vessel Name: Mile High Dream
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 400
Hailing Port: Dillon, CO
Crew: Greg Seebart
About: Greg has been sailing since he was 21. I grew up in North Dakota and started taking advantage of the constant winds. After selling my bicycle store in 2006 we got more serious about living our dream on a sailboat. Greg and his wife purchased Mile High Dream in 2013.
Extra:
Greg and Mary had owned Nada Mas, a 23' South Coast, on Lake Dillon in Colorado for 33 years. We chartered in the Caribbean and Calif. numerous times. We were excited to begin our dream. While waiting for a weather window in the Truks and Caicos, Mary died unexpectedly Jan. 6 2015 after a [...]
Social:
Mile High Dream's Photos - Main
7 Photos
Created 9 February 2019
12 Photos
Created 18 December 2018
Mile High Dream Being put in the water in Grenada
5 Photos
Created 27 November 2018
A break from sailing
11 Photos
Created 21 February 2017
Getting to the Bahamas
12 Photos
Created 7 March 2014