Milenka

From life in the wilderness of the Rockies to the wilderness of the sea. A transition from mountain man to live-aboard and hopefully to world sailor.

27 May 2008 | Reedville, Virginia
27 May 2008 | Reedville, Virginia / New Home
27 May 2008 | Holland Bar - Chesapeake Bay
01 April 2008 | Holland Bar - Chesapeake Bay
24 January 2008

Reply to Holland Bar from Friends Ashore

27 May 2008
My friend Bart, I've known for about 15 years, since Colorado and he is the #1 reason I was doing robotic research in Maryland instead of remaining in my little hidden valley forever.... I'm still somewhat UNDECIDED whether or not he did me a favor, but BART when you read this "Thanks!" ha ha

>RadioRay ..._ ._

Ps. Bart and my girlfriend at that time; Teresa helped me to bring my first sail boatl from Virgina's eastern shore up to the northern Chesapeake Bay. The weather turned into NASTY Nor'Easter and we had our share of adventures. To show my gratitude for Bart and Teresa helping me so much, I ceremoniously puked over the side, but the winds and waves deposited in on Bart at the helm... He DID get his revenge, but I'll save that story for later.

-----

Howdy Ray,
I believe it is a fascinating part of God's design that we can enrich
our minds on a sea so calm we must search for things to fill our
normally busy senses, or equally on a sea so rough we fear for our well
being and hone every movement for preservation thereof.

Enjoy the former, the latter is still to come I am sure, but that's what
life is all about.
It does my heart good to hear Rayray bein happy!!
Bart


-----
Comments
Vessel Name: Milenka
Vessel Make/Model: Standfast 27
Hailing Port: Chesapeake Bay
Crew: Ray (RadioRay)
About:
So here I am, yet another 'burned-out' engineer who loves to travel, meet people and enjoy life. [...]
Extra:
I had a comment "Oh, so I suppose that you're going to be spending every weekend with your new mistress?" meaning my 'new' sailboat. That idea is so true, the relationship with a sailboat is practically that of a paramour and the Czech language has a sweet, slightly salacious word for such a [...]