Peter, Heloisa and Auke cruising Westwards around the globe with s/v Mundinho

Our position is updated regularly. Click on Current Position (right side) to find out where we are.

18 December 2012 | Shelter Bay Panama
28 November 2012
19 August 2012 | Panama city BYC
14 August 2012 | 7 34.734'N:78 11.947'W, Bahia Pina, Panama
04 August 2012 | 1 48.992'N:78 43.717'W, Tumaco - Colombia
29 July 2012 | 8 24.0264'N:79 04.9178'W, Isla Pedro Gonzalez - Archipel Las Perlas
23 July 2012 | Panama city
21 July 2012 | Colon, Panama
17 July 2012 | Colon, Panama
10 July 2012 | 9 35.228'N:78 52.950'W, Chichime
29 June 2012 | 9 35.346'N:78 40.542'W, Kalugir Tupu and Banedup
26 June 2012 | 9 35.191'N:78 44.751'W, Miriadiadup
24 June 2012 | 9 35.231'N:78 52.839'W, Uchutupu Pippi
21 June 2012 | 9 32.722'N:78 53.754'W, Cay Limon
15 June 2012 | Colon Panama
13 June 2012 | Shelter BAy, Colon Panama
11 June 2012
08 June 2012
06 June 2012 | Shelter Bay, Colon Panama
04 June 2012 | Shelter Bay, Colon Panama

Tired of marina life

11 June 2012
Peter via Internet



Ok, we have all the major jobs out of the way already for several days. So what's next? I am waiting for an exhaust hose, which has to come from the USA. It is a standard hose which I was sure I could get here in Panama. One thing I had not thought about was the fact that we have a typical European hose size, being 60mm and Panama uses typical US sizes. After many calls here in Panama we had to conclude it is not available in Panama. The next size up is yes, but that is not any good to me as you have to work with sleeves and making more connections. In an exhaust hose you want to have as less as possible connection in your exhaust system, to limit the possibilities of exhaust gasses leaking inside you boat. There was nothing wrong with the original hose, that is the irony, I just had to cut it in order to remove the waterlock / muffler wich I had to repair. Well had I known a new hose was NOT available in panama, I certainly would have done things differently and kept this hose in one piece. Not smart Peter. Now I have a 12 ft long exhaust hose being flown in from the US on Fedex. Price not nice. I hope it will be here before Heloisa gets back, so I can get it in (and she will never know about it) and ready so we can sail off the moment she gets back. I am fed up with the current marina live and so very ready to be offshore again, sailing and anchoring off quite remote islands with a few other boats. Snorkeling and spearfishing and having afternoon sundowners with Heloisa. Now I am reading one book after the other while trying to come up with other jobs. But there is only so much you can do on a boat, well on a well-kept boat.

Tomorrow I go back into Colon to collect the next school years schoolbooks for Auke which are waiting at the local post office. I am sure it will be another uphill battle with the local customs to get it cleared. Oh well, all part of this cruising life. This morning we had the Panama Canal Ad-measurer on board, doing the checking procedure to get us into the Canal system. We plan to go through the Panama Canal on the 15th of July. That gives us several weeks to explore the San Blas Islands. Despite the rain here we do not want to miss that. My cooking has improved now and have put the daily muggy heat aside and cook every other day a fresh soup with fresh veggies. That eats well in this heat. I buy the veggies, dump them all in one pan and after 30 minutes boiling you have soup. That is easy. At five I have the afternoon drink with other cruisers at the bar. There each and everyone discusses the enormous tormentors seas we have all experienced in our cruising life, seas that grow higher as the happy hour passes.

In two days it is Heloisas birthday, she will be turning 26... She is still in Brasil with Auke. No party for her here on board this year? I will get her a party when she gets back. The best and most beautiful woman that walks (sails) around on this planet certainly deserves a party. Heloisa and Auke will be back this Sunday and I can't wait for them to get back! I miss having Heloisa around, I miss her cooking and I miss the mess Auke can make in our main cabin with his toys. You get used to spend so much time together in a small area like a tiny boat and once they are gone you miss them.

This Wednesday I will do a canal trip to help someone out who is short on crew. It will help me getting the time passed for me and I like these Canal trips on other boats. Great views and since it is not your boat, no stress. Just pull some lines on the right moment.

I hope to have the infamous exhaust hose arrive on Thursday in the marina. It will take me a few hours to install so perhaps Friday I can go offshore three days by myself, try the watermaker and get away from marina life. There are some nice anchorages only 7 hours sailing away from here. Be back on Sunday afternoon to greet Heloisa and Auke back on board.

Above is a picture from Mundinho we received from good friend Gerard on Salt Whistle, currently sailing in the South East Caribbean. I believe it was taken while underway to Cuba. Although taken from a distant I particularly like the picture as it shows the early morning grayness and loneliness of the seas, while the boat just keeps on going and going, mile after mile, whatever you do, whether you eat, sleep, read or just watch the horizon. It keeps on going. I like that about offshore sailing. Till you hit your new destination, then you have your landfall, which is even better!

Comments
Vessel Name: Mundinho
Vessel Make/Model: Koopmans 42 - Ketch - Alu Centerboard
Hailing Port: Harlingen - Holland
Crew: Peter, Heloisa and Auke
About: We are a family of three, a rather international get together with myself being Dutch, my lovely wife being Brazilian and our 7 year old son who carries a Dutch and Brazilian citizenship
Extra: You can follow us here during our two year sailing trip that will take us together via the Caribbean and the Islands in the Pacific to New Zealand. Beyond that I will take Mundinho to Europe solo.
Home Page: www.sv-mundinho.com

Family of three travelling West Bound (slowly)

Who: Peter, Heloisa and Auke
Port: Harlingen - Holland
Peter and Heloisa and their 7 year old son Auke are traveling with their sailing vessel a Koopmans 42. On this blog you can find updates regularly posted of their preparation and trip itself. Feel free to leave a message or raise a question if you have any for Peter and Heloisa.
A family of three cruising with Mundinho around the globe