Mysti-Cal Adventures

On an adventure

14 August 2017
13 August 2017 | Baddeck NS
13 August 2017 | Baddeck NS
20 August 2015
16 August 2015 | Indian Cove Washbuck river
16 August 2015 | Coulette Cove
15 August 2015 | Ramea Island Newfoundland and Labrador
14 August 2015 | Grey River
13 August 2015 | Aviron Newfoundland and Labrador
12 August 2015 | Fransois Newfoundand and Labrador Canada
11 August 2015 | Fransois Newfoundand and Labrador Canada
10 August 2015 | Hare Bay
09 August 2015 | Bay D'Espoir, McCallum Newfoundland and Labrador
07 August 2015 | Balden's Cove, Newfoundland & Labrador
06 August 2015 | Sagona Island, Newfoundland & Labrador
05 August 2015 | Fortune, Newfoundland & Labrador

Kato

13 August 2017 | Baddeck NS
Kato
II knew something was up when they put me in the car. There was barely enough room for me and I had to perch on His lap with a computer. he kept moving me aside from my comfort zone on top of the keyboard. SHE would not let me on her lap by the turning wheel.
When they finally stopped and let me out I was in a small room with the smells of many people, plus CATS and DOGS. I could smell them.
Next light we were off again to another place where they had a giant outdoor cage that fit my humans plus other nice humans and me inside. I could smell and see everything but they would not let me out. The they locked me in a bathroom all night long after that, and no matter how i called, they did not let me out.
Next day I got to play in the big people cage until they took me in the car again to the sea. I know the sea. I sailed around Newfoundland so I am a seafaring cat. I got to walk along and smell until they put me back in the car. I wanted a nap anyway, but that was a long time.
That night I was back in the bathroom. They would not listen to me and would not let me out.
So next day I let them know my displeasure when they put me back in the car and we drove all day. I let them know how displeased I was at their treatment for the whole trip. I think they learned their lesson because they gave me a whole house to be in when they stopped.
They went away so I had the place to myself to explore until dark when they came back. There were lots of bees and the smell of sea, but they took me away from there and back to the car.

When it stopped I saw my big boat. It was not in the water, but I know how to climb a ladder so I went right up into it and smelled everything. My little boat was nowhere to be seen, but it was nice to be on the big boat again. They were too busy to play with me but when I went to go down the ladder it was pushed away from the boat! I could not get down! I asked them to leave the ladder where I could get at it and he finally did, so down I went. Well no sooner had I gotten away when SHE came and found me and brought me back. I had to watch for my opportunities when the ladder was there. They did leave it for me another time, but again SHE came looking for me. I got back up the ladder before she caught me. They should just trust me to come home. They get scared. I had to humour them.

More humans came to stay on my boat and then they locked me in the back cabin while a huge machine came and took my big boat and put it into the water. Finally things were starting to feel normal around here. The nice humans left and it was me and my two who headed out to sea the next morning.

I had forgotten how rolly my boat was but I soon had my sea legs again and I found my comfortable place under the back bench on top of the comfy life raft where I could keep an eye on things while SHE took my boat out on the big waves and then into an inlet.
It was strange. I could smell some sea, but I could also smell land and forest, and could see land close by. My little boat was back now, so that made me happy, except they had it covered with two little blue boats now that were slippery and hard to balance on. I did anyway.
Soon they had my little boat in the water tied to my big boat. I liked to go in it and sit.

There were lots of boats around the first two days. I inspected them as they went by us and some of the humans on board waved and pointed at me. Some of them had dogs.
We left that busy boat place and went to a place with less boats and lots of trees around. Another boat tied up along side us and I now had two big boats. THEY were nice to me and let me sleep on their boat. It was comfortable and they petted me. I could go back and forth between boats, so when all the humans were on my boat, I had the other boat to myself.

There was also my little boat which they finally took me out on the next day. I found my perch on the bow and let the wind push my ears back as we motored around the cove. I had missed my little boat rides. They had not taken me out for two years! Can you imagine that?
There was a dog on the shore that we went by who was looking at me. I know he wanted to chase me but he was scared of the water so would not come in after me. I would have scratched him if he tried anything. I told him that.

We left that quiet place and went back to the busy place and two humans I knew came aboard. They knew how to pet me properly so I let them stay aboard.

The next morning, there I was minding my own business on my little boat, having a nap in it, when suddenly my big boat took off out to the big water! My little boat was following behind it with me in it but none of my human were aboard! They were on the big boat all by themselves with the other two petting humans! My little boat was bouncing around and I was getting sprayed with salty water and it was hard to hang on! I was worried about them so I called and called and finally they came to get me and bring me on the big boat. I didn't like that. Not one bit.

Once I was on the big boat we carried on into an even bigger water that was a little bit bouncy. Nothing like what we had in Newfoundland, but bouncier. We came to a new place and they all left in my little boat and did not take me with them. I ignored them when they came back. Serves them right.



Comments
Vessel Name: Mysti-Cal
Vessel Make/Model: Cal 2-46
Hailing Port: North Sydney Yacht Club, Nova Scotia Canada
Crew: Dave Curtis (RIP) , Krow Fischer, Kato Cat
About:
Dave Curtis fulfilled his lifelong dream of being a sailor, when he found a first mate willing to adventure. Krow has never sailed, and, pelican like, dove head first in. They took navigation, seamanship, radio operator, diesel mechanic, diving, and getting as much hands on as they could cram in. [...]
Extra:
Mysti-Cal is a good solid boat that we both loved. So much room inside, great live aboard with amazing storage and the view from the raised salon makes anchoring a beautiful thing! ! She feels like home no matter where she is. We had a big project getting her back into the shape she should be, [...]
Home Page: www.hereonearth.ca
Social:
Mysti-Cal's Photos - Main
July 14 and 15, 2015
No Photos
Created 15 July 2015
launching from Lewisporte Newfoundland and out through Notredame Bay
5 Photos
Created 10 July 2015
No Photos
Created 14 July 2014
Our travels through the Gros Morne area.
21 Photos
Created 14 July 2014
Our journey onwards to the point of crossing to Newfoundland.
32 Photos
Created 10 July 2014
From Tadussac ocross the river and onwards.
6 Photos
Created 7 July 2014
An experiment with gardening aboard..
3 Photos
Created 6 July 2014
Our stay over at Marina du Port de Quebec
13 Photos
Created 4 July 2014
Our journey through the locks and onward up the St. Lawrence.
20 Photos
Created 4 July 2014
Saturday June 28th was a great send off party from Waupoos Marina Folks. They will all forever be part of our journeys as we carry their well wishes and joyful souls with us! Thank you!
18 Photos
Created 4 July 2014