A Year In The Ionian (2015 Retired, Cruising liveaboard)

Getting ready for a year in the Ionian from 20th March 2012. The company I work for has given me a career break. April 2015, Retired, pensioner and hopefully a full time cruising liveaboard.

18 August 2023 | Koukouvitsa Bay.
04 February 2016
16 January 2016
12 September 2015
10 September 2015
10 September 2015
08 August 2015
24 June 2015
31 May 2015
08 May 2015
24 April 2015 | Messolonghi marina
26 March 2015
06 February 2015
08 January 2015 | Me Northampton, Nanjo Messolonghi
01 January 2014
01 January 2014

Another superb week here.

16 November 2012 | Vlickho
Absolutely fantastic weather.
Monday 11th Nov
Went to bed early and slept really well, a very quiet and still night again in the bay. Woke at 09:00, and really glad that I had drawn my curtains the night before, plenty of cloud about and no wind. Had my usual brekkie in the cockpit and my small gas bottle ran out halfway through the toast! Luckily I still had the new large bottle to connect up. It's going to be an overcast day by the look of things, so decide giving my dirty clothes a wash a miss today. I'm out of bread, so jump in the dinghy and take the empty gas bottle with me, and I'm in luck the first mini supermarket I stop at, not only changes my small bottle for a large one, something I've been trying to do, but nobody would let me do the swap, and for 11 euros. He offers me a glass of home brewed brandy which is just the best, I've tried, very smooth. He's selling it in 1.5 ltr plastic bottles, and I'm very tempted, but it's out of my budget at the moment. Call in at the new bakers and pick up a loaf and a danish, a quick 5min row back to Nanjo and thats one job done? I decide to give my new cooker bolt wood a varnish, and typically then get carried away and start applying varnish all over the place, and soon forget where the wet bits are as well, only finding some after I've placed my hand on them. Obvious thing to do is get my comfy cushions out and sit in the cockpit reading my book, this I do until lunch time. Stop and have my danish and a coke, then straight back onto my book again. Thats pretty well how my day went, book reading with the odd biscuit or mug of coffee thrown in, until I finished reading my book at 17:30 and the little sun I've seen has gone down, and it's starting to get very chilly. Down below and close all my hatches, to keep the chill out. Played a few games of scrabble and the bike sim, before I cooked a big dinner of tinned meatballs in tom sauce,sweetcorn and rice. Cooking the dinner warmed the cabin up nicely. Eaten of course with my usual bread and can of Alfa beer, spent the rest of the evening reading and listening to radio Lefkada. Turned in at 22:30 after some coffee and toast for supper eaten in the cockpit, it's a very clear night and absolutely no wind or clouds about, so a marvelous night sky to look at.

Tuesday 12th November
Slept really well, I was warm enough as well. No need to buy the extra blanket yet. Up at 09:00 and straight away I can see it's a gorgeous day outside, blue sky and no wind. Brekkie in the cockpit, and I just sit and watch the cars and bikes rushing up and down the main road. Quickly do the washing up and clean the sinks, it's a wash my clothes day for sure.It's so handy having the twin sinks and the bucket to do it all in, and within the hour all my stuffs washed and on the line, blowing gently in the breeze and sun. For a little job to do, I've been looking at the wooden blocks that support the cooker, and they really need varnishing, now the new barrel bolt woods been done? Out with the screwdriver,sandpaper,varnish and they are soon on the table and getting there first coat, and look a lot better already. While they were drying I sat out in the cockpit reading a book and enjoying the warm sun. Lunch was some bread and jam with a can of coke,delish. The varnish is dry now, so put on a second coat, and back to my book. 15:00 and all my washings nice and dry, so fold it up and it's straight back in my bag. That's it for another 10 days I reckon, or I might be able to last until I get to Messolonghi? The varnish is dry again, so re-assemble the cooker mountings, and I'm well pleased with the result. The more I'm varnishing inside, the more I can see just how much the wood has faded over the years, no rush to do it all, so I can take my time? The sun's going down at 17:40 and the sudden drop in temperature is really noticeable now, it's not long before everytrhing is damp? Down below and have a play on the laptop, I'm actually winning 1 game in 10 now on the scrabble, no such luck with the bike sim tho. I've made it to the giddy heights of the top bike a V-Max a few times, and lost it all after one ride again! Dinner was a throw together of soya mince,stock cube,tin of plum tomatos and a tin of red beans. To be honest it did not taste of much even after a large quantity of ground pepper, and I've made enough for tomorrow as well? Finally got round to opening the Lefkas wine Pete bought at Lefkada for 2.50 a litre,it's a white wine, and really pretty good, and just seems to be getting better after the 3rd glass? My usual evening spent reading and listening to radio Lefkada, I must have been on my own for some time now, as I'm starting to talk along with the adverts, should I be worried?? Supper was some toast/jam and a coffee eaten in the cockpit, another gorgeous night, clear sky and not a sound or ripple on the water.I'm going to really miss this place when I leave. Turned in at 23:00

Wednesday 13th November
Slept like the dead, I decided to leave my curtains open from now, and wake up when the sun wakes me up. Otherwise I reckon I'm going to miss out on the daylight hours and some lovely mornings? Woke at 08:00 and I can already see the sun shining and blue skies all around me, make a mug of tea and toast the last 3 slices of my bread, brekkie in the cockpit, it's pretty damp, but that will soon burn off. I'm going into Nidri today for a walk and a last look around the town and to take some pics, so I have a lovely long hot shower, clean clothes and give Nanjo a tidy up. The temps up to 20 degs and I reckon I can walk into town in just my shorts/flipflops leave my t-shirt in my bag for later? Load my bag with a bottle of water,some sweets and my camera, throw the rubbish bag and other bits into the dinghy and I'm soon rowing over to the Sail Ionion pontoon. A lovely stroll into Nidri, first thing I noticed is the boat yard on the bend is completely full now, they even have a yacht right in the entrance, making it impossible to drive in or even take a pushbike.The pics I'm posting say it all, and this is the yard where the yachts fell over last year in the hurricane, absolutely no chance this year? Further on and I can see that everybodies getting ready for the olive harvest, the nettings been placed around every olive tree ready to catch them. Into Nidri and it's even more deserted than last time, I'm probably the only tourist and definately the only person in shorts without a t-shirt, it's lovely and hot now. As expected I end up going to the last atm in town for some money. I take a few pictures of the high street and then walk down to the quayside, and it's really empty now, I only recognise one old liveaboard motorboat thats been here for a while, the rest of the space is empty. Most of the tripper boats are being worked on and definately no sign of any trippers? It's a gorgeous walk back to Vlicho and I stop at the new bakers for some bread and popeye pies,it was going to be 2 bread and 1 pie, but the guy missunderstood and gave me 2 of each. Who am I to complain, when I get an extra pie? An easy 5min row back to Nanjo and I'm soon sitting in the cockpit with a pie and a coke, it's been a busy morning, the suns beautiful now and I can feel it warming me up nicely. I spent the rest of the afternoon in the cockpit reading my new book, only going below for a drink or biscuit. But once the sun goes down at 5:30 now, it gets cold very quickly, so on with the fleece and trackie bottoms and even my wooly socks, just so I can spend a bit more time outside. By 6:30 even I have to say enough and go below now, dinner was the leftovers from yesterday, with added onion and some pasta. It did make quite a difference to the taste believe me? My usual evening spent reading and listening to the radio. A quick look at my budget and I have 87 euros left to last till the end of the month, about 5 e 40c about £4:70 a day in cash? Luckily I have quite a bit of food stocked up, the diesel tank is nearly full and easily enough to get me to Messolonghi, so I should be ok? I'm hoping the harbours I'm planning to stop at are all free? Turned in at 23:00

Thursday 14th November
Don't think I actually had much sleep, the bay was completely still and quiet, I just seemed to keep having little dreams all the time, on any subject and any place? Woke at 08:00 with a very overcast day outside, plenty of clouds about and no sun yet. I could do with some wind as my wind gens not been spinning much lately and my battery bank is down to 11.7 volts! Think I will have to start the motor for a bit later? The forecast is for force 5 to 6 winds S se and possible thunderstorm? Have my usual brekkie in the cockpit now and enjoy the views around me, I do love waking up in this bay. I just can't imagine what kind of view I will have when I'm back in the UK, to be honest, I'm expecting no view at all, just the next house 20ft away if I'm lucky? Spent the morning doing some little jobs,cleaning the rust of 3 sets of pliers,wd40 all the connections behind the engine start panel and working out wiring for plumbing in a shore side electric lead, I ran the engine for 90mins at 1500rpm just to put some juice back in the batteries,the main bank was only showing 11.5 volts. It went back to 12.8 once the engine was shut down. My main electric useage is the fresh water pump, there is no manual system on Nanjo, something I will have to fit. It's suprising that we have had, hardly any wind the last 6 days now,well not enough to power the wind gen for long enough to do any good.Stopped for lunch and had yesterdays spare popeye pie drizzled with chinese dipping sauce and a coke.Yummy. Had a really lazy afternoon, just enjoying the view and sunshine and reading my book. I'm soon in my fleece top and trackie bottoms once the sun went down behind the hill though, but stuck it out in the cockpit for another hour, before going below. Dinner was soya mince and the left over spag sauce mixed, along with the last 3 glasses of the wine. My usual evening followed,and I turned in at 22:30

Friday 15th November
Slept really well, as it was such a still night again. I reckon it will take some getting used to once I get to Messolonghi marina, I'm sure there will be noise and dust I will have to get used to? It's another gorgeous morning, brekkie in the cockpit as usual and just enjoy the magic views around me. I've got a trip to the yacht club planned for later,to say my goodbyes and get on the net for an upto date weather forecast. This mornings navtex is saying E se 5 to 6 locally 7 soon? I bet the weathers going to change dramatically once I hopefully move from here tomorrow on the first part of my trip to Messolonghi? Rowed over to the yacht club at 13:00, Tiffanys working so ordered a blt and a pint, sat down at the bar and got on the net. The weathers looking pretty good, only glitch is rain all day on Monday and winds picking up for next weekend, it's showing mostly westerly winds, which will do me nicely. Update this blog and send a few e-mails, and all to soon I'm having another pint and just surfing the net. Say my goodbyes and on my way out fill up my 12ltr water container, just incase the water at Zaverda is turned off? Lovely row back to Nanjo, put my bags on board, and decide to go for a row around the bay as it's my last day here. Row over to the boat yards and take some pictures of the sunken yachts and steel boats, the Neilson yard is nearly full now, and they are really jammed in solid. Gorgeous row back just before the sun starts to go down, and I'm nice and warm now, so sit in the cockpit reading my book. I'm soon below though and putting on my fleece, dinners going to be a tin of plum toms and some toast, as I'm not that hungry after my blt earlier. It takes 5mins to cook it and about 3mins to eat it, settle down to radio lefkada and my book for the rest of the evening. Turned in at 22:30

Saturday 17th November
I kept waking during the night, no noises outside, just my brain working overtime, thinking of the trip to Messolonghi. Woke at 07:45 and the suns already beaming through my windows, it's going to be another gorgeous day? Up and make my brekkie, and sit in the cockpit as usual taking in the sights and sounds of my last morning in this lovely bay. There are jobs to do, so I'm doing the washing up first, then check the gearbox oil (it just needed a capfull), check the engine over, the oils ok but adjust the alternator belt as it's a bit slack, look for anything loose or rubbing. Take everything out of the back cabin so I can get to the water strainer (very little inside it) and check the volvo shaft seal along with the sea cocks, it's all looking as it should be. Replace the lot and make my cabin look very tidy at the same time. Next job is to lift the two pieces of flooring to get at the bilge, as expected there is a little bit of water in there, two spongefulls and it's all dry again. Row ashore next to dump the rubbish and get a loaf and popeye pie, decide to stop at the supermarket and buy some more small milk cartons and get a bottle of red Lefkada wine. That's all my shopping done,a short 5min row back to Nanjo and then pull the dinghy up on the bow and give it a good wash in fresh water, before folding it up and lashing it onto the cabin top. There are a few anchorages I'm hoping to visit, so want it handy. Nanjo's just about ready for sea now, just a couple of things to stow away below. I start the engine and I'm getting the anchor up at 11:00, covered in mud as expected but it soon washes off. A slow motor out of the bay and a last look round and a few pictures taken, I really hope that I'm back here sooner than later? Motor past Nidri for the last time as well, the quay side is really empty now and so is Tranquill Bay, it can finally live up to it's name now? Theres nobody else about at all, I can see a large fishing boat on the horizon. It's a gorgeous morning, brilliant sunshine and no wind, so motor over to Jackie O's bay at 1500rpm,as there is no rush. Drop anchor in her bay at 12:00 and I'm the only yacht here, the waters crystal clear again but a bit colder than I was here last week. I'm soon diving under and cleaning the prop and bottom, not so much to do this time. The paddle wheel has jammed on the log again, so give it a clean, can't wait to take the thing out and fill the hole in to be honest. I have a wash on the stern, have my popeye pie for lunch and read my book for a bit and just admire the solitary view. You would have to be a multi-millionaire to have a view like I have for my lunch back home? Up anchor at 13:45 and no problems, theres still no wind, so clear the island and set the autopilot on course for Zaverda (Palairos), it's 7.9 miles away. So settle down to two hours of motoring, in the lovely sunshine and calm seas. Get Nanjo ready for the harbour 2 miles out,get the lot ready as I'm not sure how I will be berthing up yet. As I'm approaching I can see it's pretty empty, compared to the last time I was here with Pete, once through the entrance I see there is room to go alongside as well, luckily I'm all prepared, so turn round and go port side to. There's nobody about to help me as expected, but I step ashore with my bow and stern line and Nanjos soon secure, just have to move all the fenders over to the port side for extra proection all done by 16:00. Tidy everything up and I'm soon filling my water tanks with the long hose at the quay side, that should easily last me the two weeks to Messolonghi now. Go ashore for a walk and to take some pictures as the suns going down. It's not a tourist town and just about everything seems open, take some pictures of the sun setting over Lefkas and walk back to Nanjo. Back on board I have a quick hot water wash and go ashore at 18:00 once the suns gone down, I do get a few looks as I'm the only person in shorts,t-shirt and flip flops now, to be honest, I think that it's nearly time to dig out my winter stuff as the chill is in the air. Go straight to the giros shop I've used before, see the same woman and order a pitta giros with everything to go, 2 euros well spent. Take it back to Nanjo and eat it with a glass of the very nice Lefkas wine, which not suprisingly is followed by a couple of more glasses. All the small fishing boats are leaving and it's pretty bumpy alongside until they've all gone, I can now see why the unattended yacht behind me is drawn away from the quay. There are only 5 other yachts here and obviously nobody been on them for a while, the Odysseous pontoon is just about empty as well. Read my book and enjoy the wine, and turned in early at 22:00.

Sunday 18th November
I slept really well, no noise just the odd movement as a fishing boat came back to wake me up, but I soon drifted of to sleep again. Woken up at 07:45 by the church bells ringing out, just laid in my bunk expecting my Vlicho wailing priest to chime in, but nothing, just the bells. Maybe the guy here really can't sing? Got up and had a look outside, and it's a beautiful morning, the suns starting to get up and warm everywhere, blue skies and a gentle breeze. My navtex is forecasting Ese winds strength 3to4 for today. But the outlook is for stronger winds over the Ionion from tomorrow,which will fit in with my long range forecast for Monday of wind and rain all day. I've decided to leave here today and head down to Mitika, a new harbour for me, so somewhere to spend a few days. It's only 8.9 miles on my gps,so a nice easy trip. Make my tea and toast as usual and eat it in the cockpit,admiring the view and listening to the church bells. It's a gorgeous morning, so after getting rid of my rubbish I get Nanjo ready to leave, the engines soon ticking over, I let the bow line go, then the stern line, give her a push off from the quay and were slowly motoring away at 10:15. Outside the harbour, it's absolutely flat seas with no wind, put the autopilot on and get all the fenders stowed away and the ropes. No rush again so 1500rpm and the gps is pointing the way, motor past the Sunsail base and just a few fishing boats to keep my eye on. It's a lovely mountainous coastline, so sit back and admire the views, I'm soon turning left at the headland and catch my first glimpse of the houses of Mitika,all very colourfull and right on the waters edge. Time to get the mooring gear ready, and follow yesterdays arrangement and rig lines for any kind of approach. Through the harbour entrance slowly and straight away it's a lot different from my pilot book, they have added two floating pontoons, which gives more berthing in the harbour. The main wall is pretty full, but the first pontoon has plenty of space, it's quite low down, so steer Nanjo back out to sea so I can safely lower my fenders and put more on the port side. Back in and the winds blowing me off the pontoon which is handy, coming in slowly my first attempt goes wrong, I'm to slow and am just about to step ashore with the mooring ropes and Nanjos blown away from the pontoon. Straight back round again and come in a bit quicker this time, and at a steeper angle. It's spot on and step ashore with my lines and make the bow and stern fast, a few minutes walking Nanjo back along the jetty as far as I can to an Italian motor boat behind her, and I'm happy and make her secure. It's now 13:15 and we have covered 9.5 miles to get here, my next stop is Episkopi on Kalamos Island and thats only 2 miles away? Theres nobody about to ask if it's a local boat berth, so I hang around for an hour before I wander of to have a quick look around the town. It's a lovely place, plenty of bars and cafes and a large supermarket as well, I'm planning to stay a few days here. Walk back to the harbour down the back streets, then watch a landing barge come in and go alongside the harbour wall where I first fancied going, then 20mins later watch a water taxi come in and moor up at another spot I fancied? I decide to sit in the cockpit enjoying the sun and a beer, just incase I have to move? Finished my book and a few small fishing boats come in, but they are all going to the end of the harbour. Once the suns gone down I reckon I'm safe to stay here now, have a lovely hot wash, clean clothes. And because it's suddenly turned chilly, I get out the jeans Pete brought out for me. I must have lost more weight as they are pretty slack, get out my Harley belt and a big problem, it's got metal skulls on it, and because of the weight loss I can't pull the belt tight enough because the skulls are in the way! End up using my multi adjustable webbing belt, while I'm at it I put on trainers and socks along with my fleece. Now, winters arrived for sure, a look at my temp gauge and it's 15 degs? It's very quiet walking around town, most of the bars and tavernas are open but nobody in them. I pass a giros shop so know I will get dinner, walk to the beautiful church then turn back. Stop at the giros shop, and it's one of the best I've had and only 2 euros, find a cosy bar near the harbour and pop in for a beer. They have no internet so will have another look for somewhere else tomorrow. It's a lovely evening so go for a short walk the other side of town before getting back on board, and having a glass of wine and listening to the radio. The forecast has changed to force 7 to 8 and thunderstorms now, so I rig a bow and stern spring before I turn in, the winds blowing me of the jetty so no problems. Turn in at 23:00
Comments
Vessel Name: Nanjo
Vessel Make/Model: Dromor Discovery 3000
Hailing Port: Nidri, Greece
Nanjo's Photos - Main
What I've been upto.
7 Photos
Created 18 August 2023
Some gorgeous winter weather and at least one job off my list! The wind indicator finally fitted.
22 Photos
Created 6 February 2016
Amazing maxi yacht, now being sailed back to the USA for restoration.
21 Photos
Created 6 February 2016
The last few weeks after Pete left. I had a great time. Picked up my new bike, and at Messolonghi my new crew!
31 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
My mate Pete onboard for a weeks sailing.
13 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
7 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
Joined by three friends at Kefalonia for a weeks sailing. Taken by the underwater camera built into a face mask.
10 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
My best sunrise so far, leaving Sami early. Keffalonia on my right and Ithaca on my left
4 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
A three day round trip to Benitses in Corfu for a Yamaha outboard engine
6 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
11 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
29 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
25 Photos
Created 28 July 2015
73 Photos
Created 27 July 2015
A great time with Pat and Nick, sailing back to Preveza.
51 Photos
Created 24 June 2015
Pictures taken on the trip from Messolonghi to Corfu
66 Photos
Created 31 May 2015
The last of my big repair jobs done and Nanjos launch.
23 Photos
Created 8 May 2015
Pictures from my first few weeks working on Nanjo.
33 Photos
Created 24 April 2015
7 Photos
Created 26 March 2015
Some pics that represent my year.
37 Photos
Created 8 January 2015
Some pictures of my time in the UK.
33 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
My week on Nanjo with my great mate Bon.
15 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
My weeks visit in May.
34 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
Some pics of my time back in the UK.
10 Photos
Created 17 May 2013
Nanjo safely ashore at last.
2 Photos
Created 13 May 2013
Messolonghi.
5 Photos
Created 10 March 2013
Taking the engine apart. Toms stew!
46 Photos
Created 19 February 2013
Suprise hail attack, and snow on the mountains behind town.
11 Photos
Created 14 February 2013
It's been a gorgeous week for sunshine and getting jobs done.
14 Photos
Created 4 February 2013
W/c 21st Jan. Been a few days of torrential rain.
36 Photos
Created 28 January 2013
Jan12/13th The local drag races, held at Messolonghi airfield. Sat:overcast/drizzle about 300 people. Sunday:Brilliant sunshine,about 2,000. A great weekend
56 Photos
Created 15 January 2013
46 Photos
Created 15 January 2013
Photos taken in and around Messolonghi Marina.
104 Photos
Created 8 January 2013
Bought these at a motorway service station. Brilliant scam, these are being mass produced somewhere, and I should think being sold worldwide, so beware. And don't hand over your money like I did! Anybody want to buy a cheap i Pad and phone?
20 Photos
Created 26 December 2012
Some pictures taken in and around Messolonghi.
38 Photos
Created 26 December 2012
I had a fantastic week with Andrea on board. The weather was not great, but we had hired a car for the week. In the end we covered 900 miles in it. Nafpaxtos in the south to Preveza in the north.
66 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
My last long trip, to Nanjos winter home at Messolonghi marina. I had headwinds all the way, so it was a motor job. But a gorgeous dry crisp day. Nanjos all secure now and will be lifted out in February and kept ashore.
62 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
I tried to head for Messolonghi or Limin Petala, but the head winds and storm coming was to much, so turned and ran for Kastos. Where I thought I would be safe! A big mistake. The damage pictures were taken at Kalamos, where I really should have gone when I had the chance. Which is a much safer harbour. Lesson learned.
29 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
I was hoping to get into the harbour at Astakos, but it was full of fishing boats, and the vacant spots had lines across. So, anchored just past the breakwater. Nice town
21 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
A lovely small anchorage.
13 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
Leg 4, a long trip!
49 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
I decided to walk to Port Leone. A deserted village after the earthquake in the 1950's. A gorgeous day and a 2 hr walk each way.
50 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
I decided to give my "Topclimber" a try out.
9 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
Leg 3
27 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
Leg 2
39 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
First leg of my trip to Messolonghi.
20 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
the sunshines over and the storms have arrived, torrential rain,thunder and lightning and gale force winds!
56 Photos
Created 4 November 2012
Pete Kings week on board Nanjo. A mixture of storms,sunshine,wind?
40 Photos
Created 30 October 2012
A weeks holiday, sailing around the Southern Ionian.
56 Photos
Created 25 September 2012
59 Photos
Created 5 September 2012
87 Photos
Created 3 August 2012
Alone again, it's Bye Bye Corfu and hello Southern Ionian.
25 Photos
Created 7 July 2012
58 Photos
Created 9 June 2012
75 Photos
Created 5 May 2012
Loads still to do????
92 Photos
Created 3 April 2012
Arrived on Tuesday night to a flooded yacht. Not a problem as I have a year to sort it out.
61 Photos
Created 22 March 2012
All the stuff being delivered out to Nanjo. 15 boxs and 213kg!!! Unfortunately I could not wrap the motorbike up and post it?
1 Photo
Created 19 March 2012
I spent 3 weeks on a shake down cruise around the southern Ionian. Actually only 9 days on the move and 6 harbours. Everything went well, except the problem anchor winch!
29 Photos
Created 5 February 2012
Westerly Tempest, 31ft Bilge Keel. Master and Commander. John Shutler
20 Photos
Created 1 February 2012
The last yacht I looked at, and lying in a yard near Nidri, Greece.
24 Photos
Created 25 January 2012