A Year In The Ionian (2015 Retired, Cruising liveaboard)

Getting ready for a year in the Ionian from 20th March 2012. The company I work for has given me a career break. April 2015, Retired, pensioner and hopefully a full time cruising liveaboard.

18 August 2023 | Koukouvitsa Bay.
04 February 2016
16 January 2016
12 September 2015
10 September 2015
10 September 2015
08 August 2015
24 June 2015
31 May 2015
08 May 2015
24 April 2015 | Messolonghi marina
26 March 2015
06 February 2015
08 January 2015 | Me Northampton, Nanjo Messolonghi
01 January 2014
01 January 2014

Back afloat. Yippeeee

08 May 2015
It's been a few weeks since my last update, and typically there have been the ups and downs of working on a boat.

After eventually removing all the green stripes and glue to my satisfaction, I came to the tricky part of marking up the new ones. I had been playing with a sketch pad and really got carried away with some complicated ideas. Which could have never been duplicated either side and the cost in masking tape alone would have wrecked the budget!! So, I ended up just making the old stripes a touch bigger in the end. Four coats of British Racing Green paint and I was happy. The big let down was the "Professional 14 day, sharp edge" masking tape. After being on the sides of the boat for three days, it really did not want to come away easily, leaving a sticky residue and the edge was not as good as I had expected. I guess it's just 14 days in the UK! Nanjos new racing stripes look okay from 10 feet, which is about as near as most people will ever get. I painted the top hull line to match.
We have had a big problem in the yard since I arrived, No anti-fouling allowed. The solution for me was to get up at 7am and paint one side at a time, before the port police arrived on there rounds. Four early mornings and Nanjo had her two coats of anti fouling done. I've gone for the stuff recommended by the yard, so it will be interesting to see how Nanjo looks when next lifted out.
The Friday before my mate arrived was spent cleaning Nanjos interior and making space to set up a double bed in the saloon. Now, my bow really was a full shed.
I had a nice drive to Athens airport to collect Bonita, even finding a cafe that served the taxi drivers for a cheap meal. Then a nap before her arrival at midnight. It's always great to see her, and she came through the arrivals door smiling as expected. The drive back to Messolonghi was uneventful, except for me missing the turnoff for the bridge! We were back onboard for 4am.

The jobs with Bons help sped up, our first big job was the stanchions, taking down the interior head linings on one side at a time, meant having to shuffle stuff about as expected. The biggest shock came when we went to undo the holding bolts, two were just half inch self tappers, the other two were undersize bolts.Such a major safety item on the boat, and put together so shoddily by the Greek guys I had paid. I'm just so glad that nobody ever fell against them. The pictures say more than I can. After a fair bit of faffing about, we worked out how to put the new bases in place and secure them. Even getting the stanchions out turned out to be a really easy job, I found a welded yacht frame support nearby, and by placing the stanchion in it upside down, and giving it several clouts with a large lump hammer. They came apart easily. The first side took us a day and a half, the next side only half a day. I'm now happy with the result, although the toe rail has a few more holes drilled in it now. New guard wires completed the job.

I had winterized the engine when I brought Nanjo ashore, and had turned her over on a spanner everytime I came out. Now a complete change of filters,new belts and impellor. New diesel in the tank and a bleeding of the system, the big day had arrived to see if she would start. Luckily my Yanmar has decompressors fitted, so a 30 second spin on the starter, showed she turned over ok and had oil pressure. With Bon in the cockpit and me in the engine bay with a bucket of water for the inlet pipe, I'm glad to say she busrt into life after only a few minutes work. A very big sigh of relief as that was another major tick off the work list.

We got on with some small jobs but the last few days before the launch went very quickly, and Nanjo was ready for the water. A poor choice of food on the Saturday night, left me with the worst case of food poisoning I have ever had. I was not safe to be around and spent the whole of Sunday in bed moaning and groaning. Bon had to fend for herself and met some nice people at the marina to keep her company.

Monday the 4th and it's launch day. I had finally shaken off the stomach bug and was up at 7am getting Nanjo ready. Up went the Greek flag, Red ensign on the stern and of course my Pirate flag. Getting fenders and ropes ready didn't take long. We were the second boat to be launched, and it took them no time at all to remove the junk around Nanjo. The big tipper truck has not moved since I arrived, luckily they managed to get the tractor and lift in okay. Within 10 minutes Nanjo was on the move for the first time in over two years, only to then spend the next couple of hours waiting for the crane driver to arrive, who was doing another job in the port. It was a great moment for me seeing her afloat eventually and stepping onboard a moving yacht again. A quick check for leaks and then the engine fired up instantly. We spent 20mins motoring around the harbour before going into the marina. It gave Bon a chance to play on the tiller and me a chance to check things over. The rest of Monday was spent tidying up, changing the engine and gearbox oil and relaxing. The big surprise for me was that Nanjo still floated above her waterline, so maybe there's room for more stuff onboard.

Tuesday we went for a trial sail in the bay just past the safe water bouys. It was gorgeous weather and Trix had handed me a couple of cold beers and some goodies to eat. Bon had her first taste of being at sea on a yacht and I went through the m.o.b procedure with her. The wind started to fill in so it was out with the jib for a sailing lesson, then mainsil and finally both together. Nanjo came alive in the nice breeze and Bon managed a top speed of 6 knots, before we headed back to Messolonghi. For me, it was just perfect holding her tiller again and feeling her come alive, as she just leaned over to the breeze. We were only out for 4 hours, but it made all the work and waiting so worthwhile, She really sails well in my opinion.
Tuesday evening and things were not looking so good for Bon, she was suffering badly with motion sickness, despite wrist bands and feeling okay while sailing. Her condition just got worse as the night went on. She was having trouble focusing and standing up. It's Friday now and she is moving around at last. Our plans to sail to Corfu are on hold at the moment. The plan at the moment is to go out on Saturday for another 4 hour sail and see how she reacts. If it's bad again, then it will be a bus or car to Corfu so she can catch her flight. If she's okay then we could set off on the Monday.
I've been sewing some new mossie screens for the hatches as it's now so hot, closing them at night is not really an option.
Comments
Vessel Name: Nanjo
Vessel Make/Model: Dromor Discovery 3000
Hailing Port: Nidri, Greece
Nanjo's Photos - Main
What I've been upto.
7 Photos
Created 18 August 2023
Some gorgeous winter weather and at least one job off my list! The wind indicator finally fitted.
22 Photos
Created 6 February 2016
Amazing maxi yacht, now being sailed back to the USA for restoration.
21 Photos
Created 6 February 2016
The last few weeks after Pete left. I had a great time. Picked up my new bike, and at Messolonghi my new crew!
31 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
My mate Pete onboard for a weeks sailing.
13 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
7 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
Joined by three friends at Kefalonia for a weeks sailing. Taken by the underwater camera built into a face mask.
10 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
My best sunrise so far, leaving Sami early. Keffalonia on my right and Ithaca on my left
4 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
A three day round trip to Benitses in Corfu for a Yamaha outboard engine
6 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
11 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
29 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
25 Photos
Created 28 July 2015
73 Photos
Created 27 July 2015
A great time with Pat and Nick, sailing back to Preveza.
51 Photos
Created 24 June 2015
Pictures taken on the trip from Messolonghi to Corfu
66 Photos
Created 31 May 2015
The last of my big repair jobs done and Nanjos launch.
23 Photos
Created 8 May 2015
Pictures from my first few weeks working on Nanjo.
33 Photos
Created 24 April 2015
7 Photos
Created 26 March 2015
Some pics that represent my year.
37 Photos
Created 8 January 2015
Some pictures of my time in the UK.
33 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
My week on Nanjo with my great mate Bon.
15 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
My weeks visit in May.
34 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
Some pics of my time back in the UK.
10 Photos
Created 17 May 2013
Nanjo safely ashore at last.
2 Photos
Created 13 May 2013
Messolonghi.
5 Photos
Created 10 March 2013
Taking the engine apart. Toms stew!
46 Photos
Created 19 February 2013
Suprise hail attack, and snow on the mountains behind town.
11 Photos
Created 14 February 2013
It's been a gorgeous week for sunshine and getting jobs done.
14 Photos
Created 4 February 2013
W/c 21st Jan. Been a few days of torrential rain.
36 Photos
Created 28 January 2013
Jan12/13th The local drag races, held at Messolonghi airfield. Sat:overcast/drizzle about 300 people. Sunday:Brilliant sunshine,about 2,000. A great weekend
56 Photos
Created 15 January 2013
46 Photos
Created 15 January 2013
Photos taken in and around Messolonghi Marina.
104 Photos
Created 8 January 2013
Bought these at a motorway service station. Brilliant scam, these are being mass produced somewhere, and I should think being sold worldwide, so beware. And don't hand over your money like I did! Anybody want to buy a cheap i Pad and phone?
20 Photos
Created 26 December 2012
Some pictures taken in and around Messolonghi.
38 Photos
Created 26 December 2012
I had a fantastic week with Andrea on board. The weather was not great, but we had hired a car for the week. In the end we covered 900 miles in it. Nafpaxtos in the south to Preveza in the north.
66 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
My last long trip, to Nanjos winter home at Messolonghi marina. I had headwinds all the way, so it was a motor job. But a gorgeous dry crisp day. Nanjos all secure now and will be lifted out in February and kept ashore.
62 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
I tried to head for Messolonghi or Limin Petala, but the head winds and storm coming was to much, so turned and ran for Kastos. Where I thought I would be safe! A big mistake. The damage pictures were taken at Kalamos, where I really should have gone when I had the chance. Which is a much safer harbour. Lesson learned.
29 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
I was hoping to get into the harbour at Astakos, but it was full of fishing boats, and the vacant spots had lines across. So, anchored just past the breakwater. Nice town
21 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
A lovely small anchorage.
13 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
Leg 4, a long trip!
49 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
I decided to walk to Port Leone. A deserted village after the earthquake in the 1950's. A gorgeous day and a 2 hr walk each way.
50 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
I decided to give my "Topclimber" a try out.
9 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
Leg 3
27 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
Leg 2
39 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
First leg of my trip to Messolonghi.
20 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
the sunshines over and the storms have arrived, torrential rain,thunder and lightning and gale force winds!
56 Photos
Created 4 November 2012
Pete Kings week on board Nanjo. A mixture of storms,sunshine,wind?
40 Photos
Created 30 October 2012
A weeks holiday, sailing around the Southern Ionian.
56 Photos
Created 25 September 2012
59 Photos
Created 5 September 2012
87 Photos
Created 3 August 2012
Alone again, it's Bye Bye Corfu and hello Southern Ionian.
25 Photos
Created 7 July 2012
58 Photos
Created 9 June 2012
75 Photos
Created 5 May 2012
Loads still to do????
92 Photos
Created 3 April 2012
Arrived on Tuesday night to a flooded yacht. Not a problem as I have a year to sort it out.
61 Photos
Created 22 March 2012
All the stuff being delivered out to Nanjo. 15 boxs and 213kg!!! Unfortunately I could not wrap the motorbike up and post it?
1 Photo
Created 19 March 2012
I spent 3 weeks on a shake down cruise around the southern Ionian. Actually only 9 days on the move and 6 harbours. Everything went well, except the problem anchor winch!
29 Photos
Created 5 February 2012
Westerly Tempest, 31ft Bilge Keel. Master and Commander. John Shutler
20 Photos
Created 1 February 2012
The last yacht I looked at, and lying in a yard near Nidri, Greece.
24 Photos
Created 25 January 2012