A Year In The Ionian (2015 Retired, Cruising liveaboard)

Getting ready for a year in the Ionian from 20th March 2012. The company I work for has given me a career break. April 2015, Retired, pensioner and hopefully a full time cruising liveaboard.

18 August 2023 | Koukouvitsa Bay.
04 February 2016
16 January 2016
12 September 2015
10 September 2015
10 September 2015
08 August 2015
24 June 2015
31 May 2015
08 May 2015
24 April 2015 | Messolonghi marina
26 March 2015
06 February 2015
08 January 2015 | Me Northampton, Nanjo Messolonghi
01 January 2014
01 January 2014

Engine, Corfu and a great sail

10 September 2015
Well, the engine ended up taking eleven days before it was put back together. All that time I was on the jetty at Vlicho, and a 50 yard walk to the yacht club, I couldn't have had a better time. I quickly discovered a liking for the clubs coronation chicken baguette (the best I've ever had) and a large beer. Once all the engine parts had arrived, the Yanmar was put back together in a few hours and was soon banging away like a good un. The exhaust smoke was clear and everything was a great success, I'm hoping that should keep the engine running now for a few years. The repair bill was below what I had expected, so a happy result for me. While at the club I was introduced to Mark who runs a sail loft, after a quick chat he agreed to renew my green uv strip on the jib and make me a new yellow sail cover. The old sailcover was falling apart, and when it got wet, you could still see the old charter company name on it. A week later and he brought them back to Nanjo, and he had done a fantastic job for me. I'm well pleased with his stitching and work. She now stands out in any bay, with her bright new jib uv and sail cover.

A chance meeting with the president of the Dromor appreciation society on the bus into Lefkada, pointed me in the direction of a cheap Yamaha outboard. Only a small problem, it was in Corfu, and because the owner had sold his yacht and was going back home, it had to be collected asap. We had met on the 18th August, a quick chat with the outboard owner that evening, confirmed it was worth having. So, at 6am the next morning, I set of for Lakka on Paxos. It was still dark in the bay at Vlicho, and my stern and steaming lights were not working, I can't remember when I last needed them! My clip on push bike light stood in for my stern, white light in the end. To be honest, I only passed three small fishing boats before daylight came, and none of them had any lights at all. I had just missed the 8am bridge opening at Lefkada, so spent the time milling around in the pool, and practicing slow manouevers on the engine. The lack of any smoke was a joy. My log shows that I caught the 9am bridge at Lefkada and anchored in a "packed" Lakka at 18:00, a distance of 48.3 nautical miles. Mostly under engine, and a strong headwind the last couple of miles from Gaios. I didn't bother with the dinghy, just had a swim and went to sleep.

I left Lakka at 08:00 the next day, everybody else was still asleep, and had a cracking sail over to Corfu. A quick call to Berndt and he had saved me a space in Benitses side on to a pontoon. The Yamaha was as good as he had said, but the colour of the dark brown petrol wasn't good. It was his spare engine, and had not been used for quite a while. The engine looked new, and had only 20hrs use. After tipping away the fuel, I managed to find a couple of pieces of plywood, so I could bolt it to the rail. It looks like it's always been there now. I've not done anything to the engine at all yet, one big problem I'm having is trying to locate an outboard bracket for my old Avon dinghy. Just a small glitch in my otherwise great plan. They seem cheaper on UK E-bay if you buy a complete dinghy and bracket!
While sitting in my cockpit and relaxing, a strange thing occurred. My engine alarm buzzer went off, the electrics had all been turned off two hours earlier. After testing all the engine senders, by disconnecting the oil pressure switch, the alarm stopped! I couldn't see anything wrong, so assumed the switch was faulty. It meant having to leave without it working, but the rebuilt engine was going great and she's never burned any oil, so not much of a risk hopefully. I turned in early that night, as I had planned to leave early and hopefully reach Ligia or even Preveza.

I left Benitses at 5am, my bike light coming in handy again. It was pitch black at sea, and my big worry until it got light was catching a fishing net around the prop. I motored over towards the mainland, and the only other boat around was a large well lit ferry slowly coasting towards Corfu. Although there was enough wind for me to sail, I decided it would be safer to stay in the cockpit, rather than go to the mast. Sunrise soon came though, and it was a gorgeous sight. There is always something magic about seeing the start of a new day. I was soon motorsailing, and just passed Paxos I picked up a stern wind. The engine went off and Nanjo settled down to some downwind sailing. The autopilot was soon unable to cope, it's just not able to react quick enough to the waves. As the wind increased, so did my speed. I was having a great time and managed to surf down a wave and hit 7.4 knots. Most of the time I was sailing in the high fives, low sixes. My log reads 13:00 of Ligia, it was way to soon to stop. 15:00 of Preveza, and the seas and wind were building. I had been hand steering now for 4 hours. But, it was just to good a sail to end at Preveza, so I carried onto Lefkada. I arrived at the bridge at 16:15, because of the wind and seas, I decided to sail into the channel and then dump the sails once inside, after watching another yacht struggle to get his down outside. It was a small bit hairy, but a whole lot easier now that the channel is wider and deeper. The jib was rolled away and the main just dropped, before I ran out of space. A fantastic sail down from Corfu, and Nanjo was loving every minute of it as well as I was. I caught the 17:00 bridge opening and even managed to sail down to Nidri. My log shows that I dropped anchor in Vlicho at 19:25, and had covered 70.7 nautical miles, at an average of 5.1. Dinner was a tin of meatballs with pasta and a few beers and wine. I was absolutely shattered, my right arm had started to lock up with gripping the tiller earlier, and was now giving me real pain. I popped three pain killers before trying to sleep, but I couldn't drop of as quickly as I had hoped. My whole body was starting to stiffen up, from having to brace myself in the cockpit with the rolling earlier, my brain didn't want to turn off either. Eventually I slept, and woke up 10 hours later, and felt really drained and rough. It was a fantastic days sailing, but I really can't imagine me doing it again, well, not until the next time I get the chance anyway! I had got back to Vlicho on the 21st and stayed at anchor, just relaxing and chilling out until the 25th. I had tried to locate a new oil pressure sender, but it seemed that there had been a rush on them in Greece and none were available at all. It meant that I would have to sail to Sami to pick up my guest without one.

On Tuesday 25th, I left Vlicho at 09:00 and motor/sailed straight to Sami, leaving Ithaca on my starboard side. It was a very calm day and just meant keeping the engine at 1800 rpm and sitting back in the cockpit, enjoying the view. I arrived to a packed Sami at 17:00 and went bow on right outside Faro's taverna. There were three flots in, which explained the lack of space. My guest wasn't arriving until the 27th, so I had plenty of time to give Nanjo a clean and polish, and eat at my favorite taverna. I was moored alongside a large UK registered motorboat, that made Nanjo look like a dinghy. A real nice guy owned her, he even offered me a spare 240 volt plug, as he was running his 4.6kv generator for his air conditioning and had spare capacity! Chatting about his boat, he then told me it holds 10 tons of diesel fuel. Twice the weight of Nanjo in fuel alone, the costs of running such a monster must be huge. I did point out my tank held 45 litres, probably enough for him to get out of the harbour!
I had booked a hire car to collect Ruth from the airport earlier, and had a lovely drive over the mountains to collect her. We had only met a few times back in the UK before, and had had a great time together then. I knew we would have a good week sailing around and a few adventures together. Neither of us was prepared for what happened near the end of the week though.
Comments
Vessel Name: Nanjo
Vessel Make/Model: Dromor Discovery 3000
Hailing Port: Nidri, Greece
Nanjo's Photos - Main
What I've been upto.
7 Photos
Created 18 August 2023
Some gorgeous winter weather and at least one job off my list! The wind indicator finally fitted.
22 Photos
Created 6 February 2016
Amazing maxi yacht, now being sailed back to the USA for restoration.
21 Photos
Created 6 February 2016
The last few weeks after Pete left. I had a great time. Picked up my new bike, and at Messolonghi my new crew!
31 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
My mate Pete onboard for a weeks sailing.
13 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
7 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
Joined by three friends at Kefalonia for a weeks sailing. Taken by the underwater camera built into a face mask.
10 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
My best sunrise so far, leaving Sami early. Keffalonia on my right and Ithaca on my left
4 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
A three day round trip to Benitses in Corfu for a Yamaha outboard engine
6 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
11 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
29 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
25 Photos
Created 28 July 2015
73 Photos
Created 27 July 2015
A great time with Pat and Nick, sailing back to Preveza.
51 Photos
Created 24 June 2015
Pictures taken on the trip from Messolonghi to Corfu
66 Photos
Created 31 May 2015
The last of my big repair jobs done and Nanjos launch.
23 Photos
Created 8 May 2015
Pictures from my first few weeks working on Nanjo.
33 Photos
Created 24 April 2015
7 Photos
Created 26 March 2015
Some pics that represent my year.
37 Photos
Created 8 January 2015
Some pictures of my time in the UK.
33 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
My week on Nanjo with my great mate Bon.
15 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
My weeks visit in May.
34 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
Some pics of my time back in the UK.
10 Photos
Created 17 May 2013
Nanjo safely ashore at last.
2 Photos
Created 13 May 2013
Messolonghi.
5 Photos
Created 10 March 2013
Taking the engine apart. Toms stew!
46 Photos
Created 19 February 2013
Suprise hail attack, and snow on the mountains behind town.
11 Photos
Created 14 February 2013
It's been a gorgeous week for sunshine and getting jobs done.
14 Photos
Created 4 February 2013
W/c 21st Jan. Been a few days of torrential rain.
36 Photos
Created 28 January 2013
Jan12/13th The local drag races, held at Messolonghi airfield. Sat:overcast/drizzle about 300 people. Sunday:Brilliant sunshine,about 2,000. A great weekend
56 Photos
Created 15 January 2013
46 Photos
Created 15 January 2013
Photos taken in and around Messolonghi Marina.
104 Photos
Created 8 January 2013
Bought these at a motorway service station. Brilliant scam, these are being mass produced somewhere, and I should think being sold worldwide, so beware. And don't hand over your money like I did! Anybody want to buy a cheap i Pad and phone?
20 Photos
Created 26 December 2012
Some pictures taken in and around Messolonghi.
38 Photos
Created 26 December 2012
I had a fantastic week with Andrea on board. The weather was not great, but we had hired a car for the week. In the end we covered 900 miles in it. Nafpaxtos in the south to Preveza in the north.
66 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
My last long trip, to Nanjos winter home at Messolonghi marina. I had headwinds all the way, so it was a motor job. But a gorgeous dry crisp day. Nanjos all secure now and will be lifted out in February and kept ashore.
62 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
I tried to head for Messolonghi or Limin Petala, but the head winds and storm coming was to much, so turned and ran for Kastos. Where I thought I would be safe! A big mistake. The damage pictures were taken at Kalamos, where I really should have gone when I had the chance. Which is a much safer harbour. Lesson learned.
29 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
I was hoping to get into the harbour at Astakos, but it was full of fishing boats, and the vacant spots had lines across. So, anchored just past the breakwater. Nice town
21 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
A lovely small anchorage.
13 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
Leg 4, a long trip!
49 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
I decided to walk to Port Leone. A deserted village after the earthquake in the 1950's. A gorgeous day and a 2 hr walk each way.
50 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
I decided to give my "Topclimber" a try out.
9 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
Leg 3
27 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
Leg 2
39 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
First leg of my trip to Messolonghi.
20 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
the sunshines over and the storms have arrived, torrential rain,thunder and lightning and gale force winds!
56 Photos
Created 4 November 2012
Pete Kings week on board Nanjo. A mixture of storms,sunshine,wind?
40 Photos
Created 30 October 2012
A weeks holiday, sailing around the Southern Ionian.
56 Photos
Created 25 September 2012
59 Photos
Created 5 September 2012
87 Photos
Created 3 August 2012
Alone again, it's Bye Bye Corfu and hello Southern Ionian.
25 Photos
Created 7 July 2012
58 Photos
Created 9 June 2012
75 Photos
Created 5 May 2012
Loads still to do????
92 Photos
Created 3 April 2012
Arrived on Tuesday night to a flooded yacht. Not a problem as I have a year to sort it out.
61 Photos
Created 22 March 2012
All the stuff being delivered out to Nanjo. 15 boxs and 213kg!!! Unfortunately I could not wrap the motorbike up and post it?
1 Photo
Created 19 March 2012
I spent 3 weeks on a shake down cruise around the southern Ionian. Actually only 9 days on the move and 6 harbours. Everything went well, except the problem anchor winch!
29 Photos
Created 5 February 2012
Westerly Tempest, 31ft Bilge Keel. Master and Commander. John Shutler
20 Photos
Created 1 February 2012
The last yacht I looked at, and lying in a yard near Nidri, Greece.
24 Photos
Created 25 January 2012