S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Eeeeww...

... a wet sticky day, or at least morning, but at least I was able to make contact with our welder and find out what had been happening. He had been called out to the North Shore to work with one of his customers, a winery, and wound up having to stay longer that the original plan. He says that he should be coming back tonight and that he'll get right on the solar panel support. Yea!

But for outside work today was not the day, until later on in the PM when the sun finally broke through and beat off the rainclouds. I am hoping that tomorrow will be better as I would really like to put up the new radome and the AutoTuner. Instead today we did some more wiring and testing of the wiring that we have already installed.

We have been watching boats steadily being hauled out of the water, their season at an end. Sad, for them, but it makes me realize how fortunate Barb and I are to be able to sail all year 'round while we are still young enough to make it happen, grey and thinning hair not withstanding.

Barb's post yesterday spoke of the roast chicken we have aboard and she was absolutely right, it was delicious, and so was the chicken noodle soup that she made for dinner tonight from the carcass. I love homemade soup!

Short one today, unless Barb adds something.


From Barb:

I learned today that another of my former workmates lost his 6 month battle with cancer and I am more convinced than ever that our decision to retire early is the right one for us. On a less serious note I received this series of thoughts above called "As I Mature" from another sailor and former workmate - you might enjoy it

Comments