S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Another crappy wet day...

.... certainly not conducive to working outdoors, particularly when using electricity. What a really weird day: bright sun - torrential downpour - 30 knot winds - thunder and lightning - dark overcast skies......

During a break in the weather I did manage to get off the old radar antenna and get it lowered to the deck without mishap, but there was no way I had the time to get the new one up before the heavens opened. I did manage to prep the site with drilled holes, but I also determined that I would need longer installation bolts than those provided so it was a quick trip off to Transworld. While over there we also dropped into Purity Stainless and discovered that Derek had returned from the winery and had begun on some of our work. He tells me that he should have the project ready to install by next Tuesday - good news indeed. In fact, I will be going over on Monday to pick up the support brackets to strengthen the existing dingy davits so I can have them installed prior to his arrival, hopefully on Tuesday.

When I was up the mizzen working on putting the new holes in the radar support, drilling my little heart out, having a really boring time, I wasn't paying much attention to what was happening to the filings until Barb shouted, "Mike! Look at Mr Horton's boat!" Mr Horton for those of you who don't know, is not the Dr Seuss Horton of Horton hears a Who, but rather our immediate neighbour who has a beautiful pristinely maintained Regal 40. This is chopped and cherry with all the toys and here I am putting drill shavings all over his deck and cabin top.

Yikes!

As soon as I finished there was a mad scramble for the hose and I got to clamber all over his boat washing it down. And then later, just in case I missed any, I figured that I had better 'fess up. The fellow was a true gent and said that he had noticed some aluminum filings but assumed that they were some of his from a previous project that he had done. Having watched him meticulously hose down his boat after every time he even takes it to the gas dock, we both know that he was just being kind and polite. That'll teach me to be more careful next time.

I have my fingers crossed that tomorrow will be better weather and I can finish the radar install and a couple more outdoor chores. The number of jobs is definitely decreasing.

Hurrah!

Comments