S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Sunday, and we’re off, again. Keep your fingers crossed for us.

It will be a couple of days before we can post again so keep your fingers crossed for us on our trip from Newport to Norfolk, or Cape May, or Sandy Hook or wherever. All the boats seem to be scattering from Newport, most heading south with us doing the Norfolk route with an overnight stop at Block Island (we've never been there and there is a cold front passing through tonight with the possibility of squalls), Screech going to Cape May and the Delaware and everyone else heading for Bermuda and then south. Part of me wishes that we could follow them to Bermuda, but in my heart of hearts I know that we aren't ready. I am not a single handed sailor, and if conditions get nasty again I don't want to ask the impossible of my sweetie, so I have come to accept that as a team, we are more 3 day trip sort of people. So, most of all, is the other crew member in this formula, Peri. If we get to Norfolk and the weather is holding we may even try for Masonboro Inlet, an additional 2 days, but we will have bypassed Hatteras. We'll see how everyone is feeling at that point.

I will post this early in the morning before we go and I'll pick up the thread when we get to wherever we end up.

All the best from the crew and keep your fingers crossed.

Comments