S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Progress, real progress....

Just a quick note as I am really tired to let everyone know that we decided to go in one jump from Cape May along the Maryland coast to Norfolk and then up the ICW to Great Bridge. It was a great sail and we made superb time covering the 180- miles in 25 hours including a 30 minute stopover in Tidewater Marina for fuel.

I had forgotten how industrialized Norfolk was especially along the water but we are now into the ICW and some more scenic areas at least for a couple of days.

We will be staying here until early Wednesday AM so I can fix the auto helm once and for all, and another little problem that cropped up. I was expecting issues with the auto helm or with the engine but nor with the alternator. I think I have diagnosed the problem - the electric cables are lying in teh bilge and are experiencing some trickle voltage between the hot and ground wires with the result that the ignition light is always on at the helm. This should be a simple fix if I am right.

Anyway, tonight some Chinese food and an early crash.

Zzzzzzz.

Comments