S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

April Fool’s Day. Happy Birthday baby brother!!

My younger brother was born this day 58 years ago and I'd call him an old fart but then, what would that make me? At any rate, Happy Birthday, Pete! He doesn't use a computer and doesn't follow the blog, but hopefully he is having a good day. I sent him one of Barb's homemade cards and called him with best wishes so at least there's that.

We have begun to watch the weather with an even more eagle eye as they'll delay the launch if there isn't a good forecast. So far it looks very positive - low winds and clear skies. I won't mind delaying our departure for 24 hours if that changes but not much more. We have also begun to plan our trip north around all of the weather, availability of inlets along the coast to tuck into and fuel prices. I can't get over the difference in fuel prices down here even within a state. It runs from less than $2.40 up north to ove $3.60 in south Florida.

Barb and I are looking at heading out to a place called Chops for dinner tonight as a self-treat. It has been recommended by a fellow called Paul who has been corresponding with us by means of this blog who has told us that the food is good and not too expensive so we'll give it a try. Our friends from Screech have arrived at the marina and are out at anchor so we are hoping that they'll be able to join us.

I have some middle back pain that I am trying to get rid of so the amount of work that I am doing on the boat has been limited unfortunately but we are still soldiering on. I guess with the time we are going to be spending here in Titusville I can afford to be a wuss.

Comments