S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

An overcast day but we get “stuff” done!

Last night, after we posted our daily, as I have already mentioned, there was a cold front came through and really kicked up a blow along with the thunder and lightning and torrential downpours. Score up another good point for this marina as the break water did a superb job in keeping the seas down. The wind was right on our beam an might have kicked up another disaster if it weren't for the tunnel and bridge just about a quarter mile from the breakwater and the break water itself. I know that had an impact as there is one set of docks that is situated right at one of the openings and the boats at that dock were really rockin' and rollin' during the squall. Like all squalls, it was short lived and after 20 minutes or so the wind dropped and the sea state settled down even if the rain kept on falling.

This morning we got busy and checked the weather over the next couple of days. It now looks like if we sit here until Saturday AM we should be able to set off either directly for NYC or Block Island and make up a lot of time. Peri will be the deciding factor after the weather. So, I went up and reported the state of my health to the staff at the marina and was told that if I hadn't they were just about to come down to knock on the hull to find out if I had survived the night. I have paid up to Saturday and before we leave we will tank up with diesel both in the main tank and jerry cans on deck.

Then I crawled back into the bilge beside the engine and re-installed the impeller pump and connected up the hose from the raw water filter to the input to the cooling system. Then we changed the oil and filter and I went over the side to take the plug out of the intake scupper. Finally, with baited breath I started up the engine to see how things would work. The first thing that I noticed was that there was an really obvious increase in the water flow out the exhaust. I am still kicking myself for not noticing that sooner. Our friends aboard Screech, had pointed it out to me, but since it was something that must have happened gradually I didn't notice any significant change, but now after the de-liming and reverse flush the difference is easily noticeable and must be at least as much as 30% of the water flow. How stupid can I be. The only thing that I can offer in my own defence, if there is a defence, is that it is simply not fun to be lying down in the bilge beside the engine trying to get the face place off the raw water pump. ON the plus side I have done it three times now on this trip and the fittings are well lubricated and I am getting quite good at it. Still it is something that results in barked knuckles and small cuts and abrasions every time that I do it.

Looks like our friends Cliff and Dianne will not be able to get down here to visit on this trip which is quite a disappointment to us, but after all it is 75 miles and as such isn't a minor undertaking. Maybe next time we will be able to make it work. Our other pals Mary Lou and Jay have finished their move from their sold house on Islesboro Island and will be back at Screech in NYC on Friday. They will be heading off up the Hudson soon after so we will not likely get to see them either. Maury and Ginger from Gyspy Sails are working at getting their boat to New Bern, NC so we probably won't see them either, but we did get to meet Steve from Snoodletime whom regular readers might recognize from his regular contributions to our blog. So we have made a new contact. It is always fun to meet someone with whom you have had an electronic relationship and put a face to a name. Steve had been out in the squall yesterday as part of his yacht club's Wednesday night race series. It wasn't much fun. At sea at least you can turn and run with a squall, but close to land you options are limited. IN his case he was aboard a friend's boat and they managed to make it back to their club in safety and without damaging their boat. He has invited us to the club for their Friday night social which promises to be fun.

Comments