S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Getting Caught Up

Boy oh boy, have things been hectic. Over the last few days now that we are back in the land of socialized medicine, we have been trying to catch up with all of the medical or potential medical issues that we had on the trip. I have had two visits to the GP regarding my kidney stones and am booked in for a CAT scan next week for them to have a close look at the offendng organ. We have both been to the dentist to get stuff done thanks to the military dental plan that I had the foresight to lock in for my retirement. That's one more criticism of the Canadian Health care plan that I heard while I was in the US that I can now personally debunk. I had been told that it would be months to wait for testing like a CAT scan, but in fact it has obnly been 10 days.

We also have been getting established at our workplace. Barb hasn't actually started at her's as yet but she will next week. She will be working at one of the premier canvas repair shops in Halifax DRH Canvas and Marine, owned and run by our friend Dave who has been kind enough to offer Barb an entry level job in his business. This is a dream job for Barb as she really enjoys sewing and has always wanted to learn the ins and outs of marine canvas work. We have an under-used industrial grade sewing machine aboard Nelleke and she is very keen on putting it more to work. We are both very luck to get jobs that we both enjoy doing.

Comments