S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Mike’s Latest Rant: ^%$&^%& Insurance Companies

This might be a little weird coming from me the guy that had a reasonable payout last fall or should I say early this spring when the winter storm damaged Nelleke at the dock in Oriental, but still here I go.......

Shortly after we got home in Halifax our car was broken into while it was in the garage at the apartment building that we are renting in. Besides the car GPS unit we also lost a number of boat items which ironically we had taken off the boat since they were loose and I thought that they might be considered attractive items should someone break in. Well they broke in all right, but they slim jimmied the car door and ran off with about $4800 work of boaty stuff including the auto tuner for the SSB, our forward looking sonar, the new AIS transceiver and several more expensive pieces. After getting over my immediate wish to get my hands on the little bastards that did it I thought, no problem, one of the home, car or boat insurance policies would cover it, but apparently not. They weren't on the boat so the boat insurance won't cover it; they weren't things that were either fastened to the car or would normally be in the car, so the car insurance wouldn't cover it, an the same sort of "logic" came from the tenant's insurance.

Basically what I have found out that any of our belongings, if they are in some start of transit are not covered.

Imagine my thoughts!

It would appear that if I were to buy a 52" TV and while on the way home I decided to stop somewhere for dinner and while in the restaurant my car was broken into and the TV stolen I would be out of luck. If I bought a new outboard for the dingy and was transporting it to the boat and the same thing happened, I would be out of luck.

Lesson learned? I strongly suggest that everyone check their insurance policy and get it in writing that while in transit the contents of your car or a rental vehicle are covered by one of your insurance policies.

I should add that the insurance agent that we have been dealing with was as astounded by this as we were.

Comments