S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Blathering on......


More developments.....but first, please excuse my ego in posting yet another of the painting that I did from a photo that I took during our trip to Tampa. This little egret was on this barnacle encrusted line every morning so I just had to take a photo of him and subsequently do the painting. Fret not. I don't have any more to subject you to, at least not until I get some more done.

We have had poor old Periwinkle into the vet on three separate occasions over the last week. Apparently at the ripe old age of 7, what with the breeder's emphasis on standard rather than health and vigour, we can expect the symptoms of old age to begin to set in. Peri has been showing the signs of spinal disk calcification and arthritis so his days of leaping on and off our bunk are over. From now on or at least for the foreseeable future if he gets up there it will be with our assistance. I guess all the Turneys must be falling apart. Except Barb, of course!

We had sent the ship's computer in to the manufacturer for an overhaul and just got it back complete with updated software and a new Blu-Ray DVD drive. MarineNav of Summerside, PEI are good folks to deal with. If you'd like to see their product line of marine-ized personal ship's computers check out the link on the right side of the page. As for us, our movie nights will be of higher quality now. Ticket booth will open dockside one hour before show time.

We have been studying how we are going to be traveling back to the boat in the spring and it looks like the most cost effective way to do it is to drive our car down with a U-Haul trailer filled with our stuff on a one way trip. Then we leave the car in Deltaville while we bring Nelleke home and then lucky old me flies back, probably to Richmond, and gets the car to drive home. Oh goodie! Another pavement marathon! Maybe I'll get the GPS to find me a different route just for variety.

I have been on limited hours at the Binnacle so that my monthly income is low enough for the first couple of months so that I can start the Canada Pension to add to our joint income. That has started so next week I will be back on full time at the store. I have to admit that I have been more than a little bored. I mean there is only so much TV watching and snoozing that you can do without totally frying your brain.

Barb and I went out to a movie last night, the first one in a theatre for several months. If you get a chance go see Red with Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman, John Mankyovich (or however you spell his name) and several other notables. It's hilarious and very well put together, and Barb loved it even though it was an adventure film and not a "chick-flick". It was the first time that I heard her guffawing and chortling almost constantly through a movie for years.

Comments