S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Slow Day!

Not much to write about today so I ask the reader's forgiveness for being even more boring than usual, but I want to maintain the discipline of blogging something every day, otherwise I will get out of the habit like I did for a couple of months already this year.

At work I am working to try to train my replacement. Based on what I see happening with some good humour with the other folk that have left before me, I can only imagine what will be said about wee Mike after I go. Seems the guy that has just left is the handy person to blame for everything that goes wrong. I would just like to make sure that they have someone there to do the rigging jobs. On the plus side, one of the owners has said that when we return in the spring that will be their busy time and they would be happy to have me come in specifically to do rigging jobs, so that's a good thing. I am in the process of making up 30 sets of rigging bridles. I had made up about 8 last summer and they marched out the door particularly quickly every time there was a storm forecast. So, the owners have asked me to make 10 sets each of ½", 5/8" and ¾" double braid line. I can do 6 - 8 of them a day so that will be keeping me busy for a while.

The store where Barb works is closing out so they have a huge sale on and are quite busy. They are also flooded with shoplifters. Great isn't it? It isn't good enough that they could get something at 80% off, they want if for 100%! I am also finding out a little something about the character of the fellow that owns the building. Even though he got huge government grants to refurbish the historic buildings that they are located in he has done nothing to make the place up for Christmas or to help the merchants with their Christmas marketing. Now he's angry that so many of his tenants are leaving. As of right now there is greater than 50% vacancy and about to become more. He reaction? He stomps around the corridor and demands that any advertising that might imply that the departing tenant is unhappy with his management be taken down. Even if it is very subtle. For instance, one sign reads, "We're Outa Here! No Humbug Christmas Sale! Up to 80% Off!" Nothing in that that specifically says anything about why they are leaving, but he interprets it that way and demanded that the sign be removed. Merry Christmas, Scrooge.

Comments