S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Blahhhhhh!

Before I get into the reasons for the above comment, a couple of days ago I started a list of the boat projects that I was going to get into when we return to Nelleke and alluded to a list for Barb. I didn't mean to belittle her list, I just didn't know it all. I still don't, but I do know some of it. She has already started on her projects. Together we are making two drogues to carry aboard to accompany the storm anchor that we already carry. Barb's part of the manufacturer was by far the hardest - sewing the webbing together for the StormTreader Drogue - two layers of heavy webbing in very tight quarters. In fact some of the projects on my list are actually some on hers too, specifically the ones dealing with any varnishing both inside and out and any time that I am up the mast in the bosun's chair she is my safety line and cranker. Then add to that all the other jobs that she will be doing: modifying the sail covers, finishing the shade awning, repairing the splash clothes, and making a cover for the dingy, she will have her hands full. We have a folding table that we will be taking down to act as an on deck sewing table so hopefully that will make things a little easier for her.

The store where I work is expanding so there is a lot of construction going on with the workers tracking plaster and paint into the existing store which is a bit frustrating for those of us that are required to clean up, but the space will get its first use as the party site for the store's annual Christmas function a week from this coming Saturday. It will be the second "do" that we will be attending, the first at the docks at RNSYS. We missed the one last year but are planning very seriously to attend this year. We have donated a bottle of rum to the festivities and it should be a great way to say thanks to the good folks that take such superb care of our boat during the time that we are alongside at the club.

Now an explanation for the blahhh! Simply stated there is little going on at the store. I was on the floor for the first two hours in the day and there was a grand total of one customer who bought one small can of Cetol. Yawn! I was so desperate for something to do I washed the tore's wooden signs and chased the construction guys around with the vacuum cleaner to find something to clean up after them. Pretty sad, eh?

Comments