S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Variety is sure spicy!

Last night Barb was sure late getting home from work. She had a spa package that she had won as a door prize at Interlude Spa on their customer appreciation day and that she had to use up and off she went. I have never been into one of those places so I don't know exactly what goes on, but the Admiral always comes our looking buffed and fluffed and much more at peace with the world. Fortunately for our pocket book and for those of most married couples, the male side of the relationship doesn't need it since they do tend to be pricy, but they do make a really great gift to give to your spouse, gentlemen. It makes Barb feel great, so between our kids and myself we try to get her spa packages whenever we can or when there is a sale.

Peri, our own personal canine tyrant, had his own appointment with the doggie surgeon this morning - his own pseudo-version of the spa, but he probably wasn't quite so happy when he was finished. After all it involved anaesthetic, a scalpel and separation from his people. For those that may have met him during our cruises, you may remember that he had a small growth on the port side of his body up where the shoulder joins the neck. The vet felt that it was either a cyst or an ingrown hair and that it wasn't bothering him, per se, but it was right where his collar slides back and forth on his neck so it was always being scraped and scuffed so in the interests of his comfort and to stop him bleeding all over his nice white coat we decided to have it off. So, this morning he went in for a removal procedure. I must say that dropping him off and leaving him with strangers and facing his sad accusing stares as I skulked away was not one of my happier moments. Almost as bad as if I dropped off one of our kids at camp. Oh well, at least we were only separated for a few hours. Maybe he'll forgive me. On my part, it felt very weird to be alone in the apartment without his fierce protection.

I also went back to our friends Dave's shop to get some photos of his staff putting the grommets into our drogues. After that, all that is left is to add the leaders and they will be done and I will have the how-to e-booklet finished. The living room of the apartment had the distinct appearance of a war zone or at least a disaster area, so it's good that we can get it cleaned up for the holidays. We are hoping to have a few friends over and it would be nice if they didn't have to step around a construction project.

And finally for today, I think that my annual winter cold is coming on. In spite of the Admiral's continual nagging I haven't had my annual flu shot. In my own defence I haven't had a cold for the last two years, probably due to the fact that I haven't had a winter since we started cruising. Yet another damn good reason for following the sun in your boat and alternatively a reason to not do that sort of mad extreme cruising through the Northwest Passage or around Antarctica. More power to anyone who wants to do that although I can't understand the attraction. It's not as if it hasn't been done. Nope, warm sun, gentle breezes, and white sandy beaches for Ma Turney's little boy, thank you very much.

Comments