S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Daily blurb.

The store is on Christmas hours now, which means that it will be open until 19h30 every night except Saturday. I am one of the first that works from 15h30 to close which is only half a day but they are giving me two of them so I can't complain especially since I have two full days besides which amounts to one day more a week than I had before after they reduced hours for the winter. Unfortunately, there was only one person came into the store after 1800 and he didn't really want to buy anything. Rather he just wanted to get out of the weather.

I have also switched over to Firefox for my internet access and am amazed at how much faster it is than Explorer. Mind you Explorer has so much crap tied to it with advertisements and internet history tools that I suppose it's not surprising. Honestly these companies that put software on the net that tracks your internet browsing and then tries to offer you additional sites which they have concluded match your search preferences are a real pain. I mean, they would be OK if you were to sign up for them but you are not given the option. They are almost like a sort of legal virus and they are probably legal because as they say in their small print in spite of all their protestations of honouring your privacy etc., etc., they do say that they may be required by law (read for that government or police, of big business if they pay enough) to turn over their statistics on you. Thanks. Not interested in playing that game.

Comments