S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa!

I didn't post yesterday and the only excuse that I can offer is that I was working all day and we went almost straight from the store to the office party. At least that gives me something interesting to talk about today.

The business is expanding into an area that used to be occupied by a convenience store and as yet the space is empty so they decided to hold the Christmas function in the open area. We set up a bench table and some folding chairs, they provided an open bar and there was a boom box playing seasonal and non seasonal music and they ordered in some Chinese food for diner. Some folks brought in some homemade sweets and there was a table of hors d'oeuvers. I know that doesn't sound like much of a Christmas party but Barb and I really enjoyed it. It was nice to socialize with the folks that I work with and have a chance to introduce them to Barb. It was also nice to meet the wives of the two guys that own the business and I really appreciated the Chinese food. Usually at this time of year with all the office parties you have chowed down on so much turkey that by the time the big day comes I am heartily sick of it. So far this year we haven't had any, so on the 25th, the dinner with all the trimmings will be a real treat. The owners also gave everyone a gift certificate to one of the local grocery chains which with our retirement income will be most useful. Thanks, guys. One of the other staff also handed out cards with a lottery ticket each in it for the draw yesterday. I had a dream overnight that I was going to be handing him a cheque for a share of the winnings, but the dream lied. Rats! We're still not millionaires yet. Oh well.

Barb is taking today to finish off her Christmas baking so we can get the last package off to distant places. It will also be an opportunity for me to exercise my restraint and not raid the cooling racks for cookies. It's taking a lot outa me I can tell you. Christmas shortbread cookies! Gingerbread men! Sugar cookies! Candy brittle! Sob! They are all so good and all whispering, "Eat me! Sneak some of us! She'll never know.....!" And, of course, the Admiral knows me far too well so they are never left unguarded and when they are she leaves them saying things like, "There are 55 cookies there now and there had better be the same number when I get back!" Every time she does I count them myself just in case there are actually 56 and she miscounted, but she never does. One day there will actually only be 54 and then I'll get the blame. Come to think of it, since I'm going to get the blame anyway, maybe I'd better just sneak a cookie so I can get some benefit.

Oh oh! She was waiting for that. She's coming after me....!

Ouch!

C'mon, Babe! It was only one! Barb.

Put down that rolling pin! Right now! You hear me?!

Ouch! Ouch! Argh!

I'll never play the piano again. I hope you're satisfied!

I know I didn't play it but I was going to take lessons.

(Whimper, Whine)

As for me, I finally got busy and finished off the drogues that I have been working on. Making them isn't hard, but making than and taking pictures of doing it for the DIY brochure wasn't at all a simple task, but now it's done.

I am also going to cut this off here and head out for some Sunday shopping for presents.

Blog ya tomorrow...

Comments