S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

N – 18 and a wakie: Sunday.

Over the last couple of days we have been having some problems with our connection to the cable TV and internet, both services provided by MT&T or Bell. It has reminded me of two things: first, that we will shortly be in the position that I will be doing my blog postings though the iPhone as we will be on the road, and, second, how much we have all come to expect that technology will be there when we want it. Think about it. In the old days we would not only have to light the candles and replace them when they burned out but in many cases we would have to make them ourselves as well. As technology advanced slightly and oil lamps came into common usage, although we wouldn't have to make them we would have to trim the wicks and keep an eye on then so that they wouldn't flare up or run out of oil. Everyone understood how they worked and what to do to keep them running. Nowadays we merely flick a switch for lights, but how many people understand just how the electricity works. Many do, I know, but I am not surprised when I learn that some folks that I meet don't understand the relationship between voltage, current and resistance and how that relates to the light. Moreover how per relates to the other three components of the equation and how that applies to the brightness. And this is a very simple example of technology. Once that dives down into the realm of semiconductor technology for which we are all dependant on for radio, TV, the internet and our computers then the number of users that understand how it works diminishes even more. I'm not talking about an electronics engineer's understanding of how the electrons and holes are functioning within the semiconductor material but even a basic understanding of how, what and why isn't there for most of us and we are at the mercy of the Technomanges. Even in our cruising world, my past tenure at the Binnacle has led me to realize that a starling number of boat people are not comfortable with something like simple splicing, let alone running electrical wiring through their boat. Of course it isn't helped by some of the Technomanges in the various fields. For instance, on our first cruise I wanted to disconnect a propane line and put a cap on the threaded terminal at the T-junction where I disconnected it. I walked down to a propane service store that was a block from the marina where we were staying to buy the cap only to have the staff tell me that they couldn't sell me the cap because I needed to hire a "licensed" technician (read Technomange), one of theirs, to do the job. Stifling a laugh I merely headed on down to a NAPA Auto Parts store and bought the same fitting that I wanted the propane people tell sell me, probably at a lower cost. My point is that we should be able to do many of these things ourselves, and should be encouraged to do so. Sure, I understand that if you rewire your house you need to get a municipal electrical inspector to check it to make sure that it is to code, but a cap on a T-junction. Next think we will have to hire an electrician to change a light bulb. Maybe some folks would prefer that, but for the rest of us, we should develop the understanding and the skill to do it ourselves.

Oh, and some of you may have noticed in the comments to yesterday's blog that my friend called me on one of my many sins - after a career in the military there is a tendency to use acronyms and terms that are in everyday use for someone else either in the military or with a military background but another language for everyone else. Barb is always yanking me up short on it too. So, if any of you were wondering what a "wakie" is please have a gander at my definition when I responded to Ken's question and please also allow me my idiosyncrasies as long as I apologize for them.

Back on course, last night's dinner was a great success, mostly for the company but also for Barb's desert. She exceeded herself on that one with a puff pastry apple turnover called a Chaussons aux Pommes with icing sugar dusted on the top. Slurp! (From Barb: The picture is of Mike , Pat and Lisa - Mike seems to be unable to resist a puff or two on the balcony while Pat and Lisa are visiting - baaad Mikey!)

And as a postscript, Gloryorski Huzzah and Yahoo! The Bell Alliant tech showed up and replaced the modem which turned out to be the guilty party and the connection has been re-established. The best part was that there was at no time any attempt to blame something else - the laptop, the network...... which used to be the default repair mechanism for service techs.

Comments