S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

N – 13 and a wakie: Some unabashed brown-nosing

We are paving the ground for the imminent return of Nelleke and her stalwart crew (us). How you ask? Well, Barb has baked a really delicious looking apple pie which we dropped off for the RNSYS yard crew to have for their lunch. Always pays to take care of a yacht club yard crew for they will then take care of you we have found. Setting aside the mercenary attitude Wayne and his lads are really great to us so they deserve the odd side benefit. We always contribute to their Christmas party and Barb and I also occasionally do some sort of lunch treat for them. We have had them aboard to feed them once or twice and since this time we don't have the boat here Barb had the idea of baking them a pie. Hence the brown-nosing title for today's blog.

I am also learning more and more about the details of electronic banking including how to transfer monies from my Canadian accounts which is where all the income goes, over to the US accounts which is from where we will be spending most of it. I have also learned the details of how to put stop payment on cheques and indeed the fact that I could do that from our home computer terminal. Neat!

The tax advisor has most of the details necessary to fight the battle with Revenue Canada on our behalf even after we have left so I am feeling better about that. It looks like when I transferred money from my RRSPs to buy back into the Forces Pension Plan all the records didn't get distributed to those that need them so it appeared that I withdrew RRSP finds as income. Hopefully that's it as it would be a very simple fix.

Our outing last night was really great. Our host's husband has a Swedish background and she herself is fluent in the language so it was kind of neat to have a dinner in a Scandinavian restaurant especially at the prices that I mentioned in yesterdays post. I had a wiener schnitzel as did most of the folks around the table along with a nice slice of marinated salmon for a starter and a sublimely chocolate desert called Kong Olag. Slurp. I ate way too much!

Tonight we are going to have a couple of beers in a downtown pub with some of Barb's old cronies from where she worked before she retired. The fact that I worked for the same company for a short while means that I may even know some of the folks there too which just adds to the evening. Perhaps I can convince Barb to forgo either she or I cooking tonight and we'll have some pub food for dinner instead.

Comments