S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

N – 5 and a wakie: Barb wants me to admit to something.

Ok, Ok, Ok, Dear! I will put it in the blog. You see, my own personal CINC Home Fleet, and full time conscience seems to think that too many people out there reading this blog might think that I am perfect, and that I should put in more of my own personal goof and slip ups to indicate the required level of self effacement and humility. This was precipitated by something truly evil that happened today that I really should pass on, so much as this might come as a shock to many of you, here goes.

Today was the day that Barb went in to the spa for her buffing and fluffing (which had a great result, by the way. She is even more beautiful than before and relaxed and rejuvenated to boot) and I decided to take Peri along to give him a morning walk someplace where he hadn’t been before or at least for a long time. Suffice to say we had a great walk and then came rolling home. En route we came across an accident on Quinpool, the street that runs along the east side of the Northwest Arm. There was a car laying on its side on the sidewalk right next to the seawall with not only impact, but also fire damage. In fact the fire engine was still there recoiling its hoses. I drove on by (if there’s one thing I loathe it’s those looky-loos that hold up traffic while they strain to get a glimpse of the casualty, be it vehicular or human and I didn’t want to be tied into that ilk). At any rate that was occupying my mind considerably so when I got back to the apartment and parked the car in the garage I was well on my way upstairs when I said to myself, “What’s wrong with this picture?” Poor old Peri was still back in the car. I had forgotten my wee buddy! How dumb is that? The other things that the Admiral wants me to confess up to were not having the patience to figure our how to use the FTP software that I needed to upload the cookbook to lulu.com, nor to find the old hard copy proof that I had in the office when it was only a couple of inches beneath some other stuff that “someone” had piled on top of it. There. Is that enough, Barb? Has my image been adjusted to the proper level of reality?

Hrumph!

We have updated the GPS for the car, the Tom-Tom with all new maps, and John Cleese’s voice to give us the directions. It was only six months old so I hadn’t thought that there would be too much updating for the maps but it took several Mbytes of disk space and I had to delete some unused software from the computer’s hard drive so the temporary files had room to be installed for the upload to the device. The sample of John Cleese’s voice on their website suits me to a T. “No, no, no! Your other left, you daft twit! Do I have to actually drive this vehicle for you as well?” It will make the adventure driving down even more enjoyable. I have also asked for the real time traffic update feature, plus one or two other little things so we will see how they impact the drive.

I’ll be back to work tomorrow with a few more rigging jobs to get done before I depart which will allow me to make a few more pennies to pay off my bill for boaty stuff before we leave.

I have a couple more ideas for books to put together, one of which will really be Barb’s book and the other one would be mostly mine. Hers is one of photos of Bahamian flora. During our trip there last year she photographed well over several hundred flowers as we came across them during our trip to the Bahamas. She has done a great job and all that we would really need to do is make sure that we correctly identify each of them and write up a little about them. Some are purely decorative but many have medicinal purposes from folk medicine much of which is still practiced. The reason we thought of this is that when we were in the Bahamas we couldn’t find a reasonably priced book to identify the flowers, in fact we couldn’t find any. Mind you we were in some off the outer cays when we were looking and perhaps if we were in Nassau it might have been different.

My book idea is for what I am calling an adult’s colouring book. No I don’t mean that it’s X-rated, rather it will be a book of black and white sketches accompanied by poetry or prose that the reader could colour in to their taste and put their own name on the cover as a contributor, I think the idea is neat if I do say do myself.

Comments