S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Poised to depart tomorrow for Deltaville

We woke up early and were off by 07h30, pounding down the highway heading for Baltimore. Well, we pounded better than I planned as we arrived at 16h00 and were in our room and here I am blogging at 16h30. We (and by that I mean me) only made one wrong turn, well, two if you count missing the turn to the ticket turnstiles on the NJ turnpike and having to pay the price at the other end $23 vs $9, which depleted our available cash.

Since we have the car until I drive it back we have decided to wait until we had moved onto Nelleke and gotten rid of the trailer before heading to the Customs Houuse to get our cruising permit sorted out. I didn't like the idea of trying to manoeuvre about downtown Baltimore with the heavy UHaul dragging behind us. Plus I'd like to get rid of the trailer asap to save a few dollars.

We have also asked the staff at Deltaville to launch Nelleke whenever it is convenient to them, even if we aren't there yet. Hopefully that will occur and she will be waiting for us when we arrive. That will make a lot of difference in loading the trailer's worth of stuff aboard. We can just pass it over the rail rather than climb up a ladder.

Comments