S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Egad! Friday. Again!…

How time flies when you are spending money, eh? Whether it’s your own or someone else’s. Ah well.

We have discovered that we yap too much on text on the cell phone. We had though that would be a lot cheaper than phoning and it is but we had only applied for 250 messages and we are already at over 500 so we will up that to the 5000 plan at an additional $15/month. Cheap money to be able to stay in touch with the family. I just wish I could convince my Mom and Dad to come into the technical age. But I guess it’s too much to expect old doggies to learn new tricks especially as I have been after them for years as has Mom’s brother and his wife, both of whom use their computer regularly. I guess my parents are the sort who loves to live in the past.

‘Twas another wild night again last night only the wind was coming from a different direction. I had left the fenders and lines in place from the last blow so I felt a lot more comfortable. One thing that the marina told us about tides here was that the wind has more affect than gravity and I can see that yesterday evening. The water is almost up to the dock and it was a significant step down to get off the boat. Not so bad for me but with Barb’s knees she wasn’t having much fun. Yours truly got to be a step stool. The after the sun went down so did the rain and I mean it came down in absolute torrents. I couldn’t see more than 50’ from the companionway! We were warm and dry tucked away in our snug little cabin but the sound of the rain on the metal dock roof just feet away and on our cabin itself almost drowned out the TV we were trying to watch.

Other than that, today has been a long and bewildering day. When the sun was out it was quite pleasant, but when it wasn’t it sure cooled down quickly. Brrrr! We had the heater going pretty much all day, both to warm us up and to dry everything out after last night’s deluge.

The new owners of the brand new Catalina 30 that has been tied up ahead of us on the service dock showed up for the commissioning. It’s a beautiful looking boat and I’m sure that they’ll get a lot of enjoyment out of it. Lew and the staff here at the marina sure did very well by both the new owners and the manufacturer as he and his mechanics went over the boat from stem to stern checking and adjusting everything prior to their arrival. If there was anything wrong with it I am sure it would have been fixed prior to the new owners even laying eyes on her. Their intro to their new boat was fun to watch when they weren’t looking.

I also spent most of the day working at getting the cookbook back into shape and back with the publisher. Thanks again to everyone for your advice. The combination solution that I am using seems to be working, at least so far. The one large document is now divided into three separate sections, all of which seem to be making the old laptop and Word much happier. Barb spent the day doing more sorting and cleaning out the BBQ so that we will be having steaks on the Q for dinner this evening. I think I will be wearing sweaters to do the cooking in though.

Comments