S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

April Fool’s Day, my brother’s birthday, and a trip to colonial Williamsburg

I am so used to the time difference between Halifax and Ottawa where my Mom and Dad and my younger brother live that I called Peter (the brother) to wish him a Happy Birthday at 07h30 assuming that it would be 08h30, a not unreasonable time to be calling. I had forgotten that we were in Deltaville which is in the same time zone as they were, so his birthday present from me was to be awoken ignominiously with me singing Happy Birthday, deliberately off key into his sleep fogged ear. Needless to say the joke was a little flat so to speak but at least there was some distance between us so he couldn't chase me around with a baseball bat or anything.

We deliberately had a light breakfast as we were planning to have a lunch out and set off to Williamsburg. We had either there or the state park at Jamestown to visit and Barb chose Williamsburg as she needed to get some knitting needles and the only place around that seemed to have the ones she wanted was just outside there. Not only did she get the needles but she also got some wool and a pattern for some socks and a Padraig Irish driving hat for me. You see? I am in touch with my feminine side. I just have an ulterior motive.

The site of Colonial Williamsburg is another must visit place down this way. It is a carefully preserved town with some of the properties still being private residences and the rest being museums, shops, or workshops for animators to tell the history from. It is easily the largest that I have ever been in; larger than Upper Canada Village back home which I believe is one of Canada's biggest. It is set right adjacent to the College of William and Mary, a large law campus and one of the most prestigious in the US if not in the world. It is a gorgeous campus and one that it would be worth attending just to be able to stay there, even if you never become a lawyer or politician. The photo gallery has another sub folder added to the Spring Cruise site containing a bunch of photos from our visit. If you want to go into any of the buildings you have to pay $38/person for a day pass but otherwise you are free to wander around and peep over the fences and through windows. Plus you can always still talk to the animators and listen to tour guides as they walk the paying customers past.

We had our lunch at the Kings Inn, the actual inn from colonial times, with a sort of colonial menu. Barb had a chicken pot pie and I had what would otherwise be called a pot roast. Both were delicious and along with the fireplace were most welcome on a chilly spring morning.

We also had a walk through the Merchant's Square and poked into a couple of shops. All in all as I said a great spot to spend the day. The only partially negative thing about it were the busloads of school kids that were running about shouting and screaming and generally having a great time of a day outing from school. Great that they were learning first hand about their history, I just wish that they could be a little more subdued about it.

On the down side, the rest of the parts for the engine replace didn't arrive so nothing got done on the boat. To look at the silver lining, we are staying on the dock, with power and water for free and for the next couple of days we will be able to work on out own list of jobs.

Comments