S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Crewperson Mike Arrives Today

I will be adding to this post, after posting, as the day goes on. I want to get my thoughts down before I forget them.

After I posted the blog last night there was a fair amount of excitement in the harbour. Newport is a city that developed as a "cottage" destination for the rich and famous, as a shipping centre to the far east, and as a fishing port. Well the rich and famous is a relative term and the mega rich folks aren't here any more and their "cottages" are mostly available for tours to go through, the shipping business has moved elsewhere and the fishing industry is now down to about a half dozen small stern trawlers and a couple of lobster boats like back home. Indeed there is a major boating presence here but the vast majority is for recreational boating large and small. And as of last night there is one fewer stern trawler operating out of this place. Just before supper I was on deck and I noticed great clouds of grey and black smoke billowing out of the cabin structure of a black hulled trawler down at Pier 9. I was about to call 911 when I noticed this fellow in a red shirt scrambling around on the deck running into the cabin with one fire extinguisher after another. As someone who has had a fire in the engine compartment aboard Nelleke I have some idea of what he must have been going through. About the same time the Coast Guard and fire boats showed up along with the dirt based fire trucks and in short order the smoke stopped. The fire trucks hung around for hours so I'm not sure if they were checking to make sure that the fire was truly out of if they were conducting an arson investigation. Given the state of the fishery I'm sure that an insurance fire was something that was on their minds. This morning we walked over to check it out and discovered that the boat was still floating but that the cabin has sustained some major damage. Fortunately there were no injuries. Whew! The picture on today's post is one that I took during the blaze. Early afternoon just after the noon meal we saw them taking her around to the shipyard under her own power so I guess they are going to make repairs. Good to see.

Last night too we found out that some sailors are not particularly honest. There was a 35' boat arrived at the dock after the staff had all left, tied up and plugged in and toddled off to the showers. This morning they departed early. I am only hoping that they found some means to make payment for their night at the dock. $1/ft is too good a deal to abuse.

Barb and I treated ourselves to some lobster when we went around to check out the fire damaged boat. We aren't sure that Mike enjoys shellfish or not so we are cooking them and will shell them to put in the freezer for future consumption. If he likes lobster we will make a lobster salad or new burg or something, if not we will have it ourselves later. We are planning a light dinner of hors oeuvres tonight after he arrives by way of celebration and as of now it would appear that we will be staying an extra day to give Mike a chance to wander about Newport and see some of the sights. We have been invited by the marina manager to tie up to the fuel dock on Monday night to pump out and take on fuel so we can make an early start on Tuesday morning. I think that should give us the current for most of the morning up Buzzards Bay but in fairness, this tidal currents in this part of the world still gets me all twisted up. We will see what happens. I am still planning to travel as far as Onset Bay that night and pick up a mooring and await the tidal currents early the next morning but, as I say, I might be all backward and we will be smoking through when we get there.

Just got an e-mail from Mike. At 1430 local he was at the Halifax Airport and already has his ticket to Newport. ETA 2230! Barb just returned from yet another shopping trip for groceries with a few more goodies for the rest of the trip. Luckily one of my pays was put into the bank account today.

Comments