S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Still living the adventure, just a little drier

Wow! No matter how many times I have done this or something like it I am still in awe of two things: how large and how varied Canada is geographically, that's one thing; and the fact that in five hours I can fly from almost one coast to the other. Remarkable!

Yesterday we left the boat at 0530 to head to the airport where Barb dropped me off to travel ot here to Drumheller where son Chris has worked for the last 3 1/2 years at the corrections facility here. I had always thought of "Drum" as they call it as being a sad and dusty little place but it's not. It's really quite a charming town in it's own right with the badlands messas in view e erywhere that you look outside the town. I can see from a bachelor's point of view where Chris might want to get into a larger metropolitan area but this place does seem very nice. I met a few of his friends yesterday and they are clearly going to miss him and said as much to me. They have told him that if he e er wants to come back there would be a place for him which is as good a recommendation as you could get.

Today we will be setting off at 0800 or shortly thereafter and we are planning to get past Winnipeg before stopping for the night. I will be taking photos along the way and making some progress reports.

Comments